Previous page versions (History)

One incredibly useful feature of the University's content management system is that every time a page is edited and saved, a copy of the page is created and stored in the page's History. This means that at any point you can view the last 100 previous versions of the page.

e.g. James has been working on some user guides for his web site and inadvertently deletes a large section of one of the guides. When he realises what he's done he goes to the History tab, finds a version from before the mistake, and reverts to that. Problem solved.

 

Using the page history

If you have editing privileges on a webpage you will be able to see the page's History button which will be located at the top of the page, below the page title.

History button

Clicking this button will allow you to view the page's editing history, compare the page with previous versions and, if necessary, revert back to previous versions of the page.

You will see a page which looks similar to the one below.

Page history

Using the change note feature

One feature that will make the page history even more useful is the change note. You may have noticed, when you're editing a page, that at the bottom just above the Save button is an empty box entitled Change note with the instruction 'Enter a comment that describes the changes you made'.

Change note

As this instruction indicates, you should be using this empty box as a means to add a description of the recent change you've made before you save the page. These unique descriptions will be added to the page's history and therefore make it much easier to revert back to the appropriate version of the page in the future should you need to.

Change notes are especially useful when multiple people edit the page on a regular basis. They can show exactly who did what and when.

Share this page: