Locked page

When a person is in the process of editing a webpage, the page will become locked. This helps to prevent multiple editors from editing the page simultaneously and therefore overwriting each others changes. When a page is locked for editing a message will appear, visible to only other page editors, which identifies who is editing the page and how long ago they began to edit.

Locked page

Anyone with permissions to edit a page also has the ability to unlock it. However this could potentially interrupt the person who is currently making the changes. However web pages will also become locked if a person begins to edit a page but then navigates away from it, or closes their web browser, without either saving their changes or canceling the edit. In this situation it is okay to unlock the page.

The 'locked page' message will give you an indication of how long the page has been locked for. If this time is only a few minutes then it is safe to assume that the person is still editing. If this time is several hours or days then the page has probably been locked unintentionally and can be unlocked. If you're at all unsure it is always best to contact the person directly and ask.

Share this page: