The Student Awards 2018 Winners!

Student Awards 2018

Suzie Imber

Thank you to everyone who attended the Student Awards 2018 which took place Wednesday 6 June at Stamford Court, Oadby. We hope you enjoyed the evening and congratulations to all of the winners! Photos can be viewed on the Leicester Union's Facebook page.

Please see below the Student Awards 2018 Winners here:


Academic Representative of the Year

Winner: Aysha Ahmed

Having represented her peers since first year, Aysha have gone above and beyond in her role, such as organising a session for students in the year below, allowing them to seek advice from finalists and staff on a selection of final year projects.


Sports Achievement Award

Winner: Sam Cranswick

Sam has achieved monumental success, helping to achieve the longest unbeaten run by any Team Leicester team in recorded history and elected as Men’s Rugby Union Club President for the 2017/18. He also has been working alongside the Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Equality and Diversity to promote HeForShe.


Student Support Champion

Winner: Katie Sinfield

Katie is a fantastic ambassador and leader for change around student support on a national level, working with organisations such as Student Minds and the National Union for Students to promote the highest standard of support.


Frank May Cup for Community Impact and Volunteering

Winner: Helen Kuht

Helen has volunteered for winter night shelters and introduced new ways of engaging with the homeless by organising ‘morning walkabouts’ in Leicester and in Birmingham.  She has utilised the skills gained through her experiences of working with the homeless to inspire new volunteers. She is an inspiration and has made an enormous difference to the causes she has been supporting.


Student Staff Member of the Year

Winner: Jonathan McGrath

An ambassador for the past four years, Johnny has represented Leicester at over 100 events. Johnny has trained to deliver almost every role open to student ambassadors and has progressed to the point where he is supporting and developing his peers, both as a team leader, and a trainer.


Leicester Award Student of the Year

Winner: Amy May Wood

Through the programme, Amy has successfully reflected on her substantial volunteering experience to enhance her self-awareness to develop her skills and build an excellent CV. As a result, Amy has secured a project management volunteering placement abroad to support her future career plans in the charity sector.


Leicester Award Gold Student of the Year

Winner: Jennifer Frimpong

Jennifer realised that completing the Leicester Award Gold was a great opportunity to develop her personal and professional skills and seized the opportunity to prepare for securing a significant experience.  Jennifer successfully articulated and recognised how these skills would assist her to achieve her future goals and aspirations.


Outstanding Commitment to Professional Development

Winner: Chloe Birkett

Chloe has proven herself to be a driven, committed and exceptionally competent young professional. Dedicated to putting herself forward for a huge variety of opportunities both within the University as well as external opportunities, to develop herself as a professional and gain critical experience in the competitive legal field.


Inspirational Achievement Award: Overcoming Adversity

Winner: Corinne Crosbourne

Corinne has demonstrated superhuman strength and resilience to battle through extremely challenging situations whilst studying for her degree. Corinne has gone above and beyond to live her university life to the full, whilst inspiring those around her.


Campaign of the Year

Winner: Nightline

Nightline’s Awareness Week included cake sales, craft days, and visiting Shabang and Let’s Disko. Through social media, leaflets and publicity volunteers, Nightline raised awareness of their listening, support and information service.


Fundraiser of the Year

Winner: Galaxy Radio and Leicester Marrow

The 69 hour radio show fundraiser was a massive success with over £1000 being donated to Anthony Nolan and Galaxy Radio and Marrow being invited to the National Societies Awards in recognition for their achievement.


Student Group Event of the Year

Winner: Sikh Society

In February, Langar on Campus took over Queens Hall to feed students from over lunch time. After months of careful planning, training and liaising with members of staff from across the Students’ Union, the community and Leicester Services Partnership, the event was a great success and left more knowledgeable about the values of Sikhism.


Student Group Innovator of the Year

Winner: Computing Society

With an innovative social media rebrand accompanied with a series of engaging events and collaborations throughout the year, this group have sought to transform the meaning of an academic society. The result has been a close knit community, easily identifiable on campus through their merchandise and their presence in intramural sports.


Student Group of the Year

Winner: Netball Club

With innovative social media campaigns and a presence at most events, all members seem ready to take themselves to the next step in development. The group has also shown initiative throughout the year, adapting to any difficulties they had whilst running their own events and fundraisers including pub quiz, tour, old girls weekend and a charity match.


Pomerance Prize for Music


Adrian Dawati

Brennan Alleyne

Faye Balcombe

Lucy Spencer

Anisa Hashmi-Culling

Catherine Bird

Fiona Kuribayashi-Coleman

Big Band

Ben Kingston

Claire Constance

Liam Karai

This annual prize is given to one or more students at the University of Leicester as recognition of talent, interest or performance skill related to music. The prize can be given to an individual or can be applied for the benefit of a student society/societies connected with music in the widest sense, or a combination of these factors.


Teaching Partnership Awards

Winners: Hannah Lerman and Jonathan McGrath

The University’s Teaching Partnership Awards celebrate excellent contributions by students who teach and/or significantly enhance the learning experience of their peers. The awards recognises students as partners in their own learning and as partners in improving our broader learning and teaching culture.


President and Vice Chancellor's Student of the Year

Winner: Helen Kuht

This award celebrates the student who has consistently demonstrated the highest standards of achievement throughout the year. They will have performed at an exceptional level across a number of activities and supporting the development of their peers and colleagues.


Share this page: