Sports Awards 2020

Posted by cc576 at Sep 08, 2020 05:25 PM |
A huge congratulations to the winners!

We hosted our annual awards ceremony on Friday 4 September, 7.00pm for our sporting Citizens of Change. Our virtual experience of this year's awards ceremony was a fantastic way to bring our sporting community and those supporting them, together. We really hope you enjoyed cheering for your friends and teammates and dressing up in your best attire for the evening.

The winners of the categories presented were as follows:

  1. Coach of the Year - Lewis Jones (Women’s Rugby)
  2. Sportsman of the Year - Luke Kirby (Tennis)
  3. Sportswoman of the Year - Beth Cambridge (Cheer and Stunt)
  4. Sports Scholar of the Year - Jake Dobson (Cycling)
  5. Team of the Year (Non BUCS) - University of Leicester Cheer - Ruby
  6. Team of the Year (BUCS) - University of Leicester Lacrosse Club Women's 1st
  7. Most Improved Club - University of Leicester Ultimate Frisbee Club
  8. Special Recognition - John Barman (Table Tennis and Ultimate Frisbee) and Rhys Campbell (Badminton)
  9. Committee of the Year - University of Leicester Hockey
  10. Sports Personality of the Year - Abi Bowran (Women’s Football)
  11. Outstanding Contribution to Sport - Hannah Belcher (Cheerleading)
  12. Club of the Year - University of Leicester Women’s Rugby

Congratulations to all our winners. It was a fantastic evening dedicated to your sporting achievements. Thank you to all in attendance, a huge well done to all involved, and we look forward to next year’s Sports Awards 2021.

If you were unable to watch the live event, please visit the University of Leicester’s official YouTube channel to watch.

Share this page:

Key Dates

Terms, semesters, exams etc. for current and future academic years.

All key dates