Trade unions

campus3.jpgThere are three recognised trade unions at the University:

UCU (University and Colleges Union)

UCU is the largest trade union and professional association for academics, lecturers, trainers, researchers and academic-related staff working in further and higher education throughout the UK. it was formed in 2006 by the amalgamation of the Association of University Teachers and NATFHE - The University  and College Lecturers' Union.


Unite is Britain's biggest union, formed by a merger between the T&G and Amicus, and has two million members in every type of workplace. At Leicester it represents clerical and technical staff.


UNISON is Britain and Europe's biggest public sector union with more than 1.3 million members. At Leicester it represents manual and ancillary staff and craft trades.

Share this page: