Good luck to all our finalists at the Discovering Excellence awards tonight

Posted by ac652 at Oct 17, 2016 11:25 AM |
The day of the inaugural Discovering Excellence awards has arrived where get the opportunity to celebrate the the innovation, creativity and dedication of our fantastic colleagues.

The Discovering Excellence awards celebrate the innovation, creativity and dedication of our fantastic colleagues and we are very excited to announce the finalists.

There were more than 200 nominations - which is a terrific response rate in this inaugural year - and it has been wonderful to hear about the amazing work that our colleagues are doing in our University.

Our award event, where the winners will be announced, takes place this evening at Stamford Court and will be hosted by Lukwesa Burak. Lukwesa is a news and current affairs presenter and University of Leicester Alumna.

On behalf of the whole University, we would like to wish all of our finalists the best of luck this evening.

Don’t forgot to check out the staff webpages tomorrow for all the details from the evening including the winners!

The finalists for each category are as follows:

Valuing People Phil Dalby Marketing and Student Recruitment
Colin Hewitt Genetics
Mandy Sands Estates and Facilities Management
Creative Innovator Elizabeth Jennings Sport and Recreation Service
Hannah Simmonds Registry - Timetabling and Examinations
Stuart Wood IT Services
Working Together Athena Swan Teams College of Medicine, Biological Sciences
and Psychology
Field Biology and Ecology Teaching Team Biological Sciences
Aimée Harrisonwild College of Science and Engineering
Exceptional Team Member Mercy Aylward Cleaning Services

Dr Alison Dunkley


Diabetes Research Centre


Lynne Howells Cancer Studies
Inspiring Leader Fredy Caballero Estates and Facilities Management
Professor Neil Chakraborti Criminology
Dr Laura Mongan Medical Education
Dr Ross Parry Museum Studies
Student Experience Dr Steve Baker Physics and Astronomy
Dr Sarah Lee Geology
Becky Talbott Counselling and Wellbeing Service
Teaching Excellence Dr Richard Blackburn Chemistry
Dr Dylan Williams Chemistry
Dr Graham Wynn Physics and Astronomy
Research Excellence Dr Joe Henson Diabetes Research Centre
Effie Lai-Chong Law Informatics
Professor Martin Tobin Health Sciences
Professor Mark Williams and Professor Jan Zalasiewicz Geology
Digital Excellence Terese Bird Medical Education
Andrew Gulley Operating Department Practice Education
Equalities Champion Dr Stevie-Jade Hardy Criminology
Professor Henrietta O'Connor Media, Communication and Sociology
Dr Rhaana Starling Physics and Astronomy
Enterprise Award Professor Mark Carr Molecular and Cell Biology
Professor Alison Goodall Cardiovascular Sciences
Professor Roland Leigh Physics and Astronomy
Team of the Year Clearing Team Marketing and Student Recruitment
College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology Foundation Year Teaching and Development Team College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology
Student Lifecycle Change Programme Team Student and Academic Services
President's Award This award will be announced at the presentation event

Please click here for the more information on the award criteria.

Share this page: