The College of Life Sciences

Posted by rmt22 at Oct 03, 2017 10:36 AM |
Following a restructure and approval from the University, the College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology will be known as the College of Life Sciences.

This change better reflects the identity of the Schools and Departments that now make up the College and also encompasses the plans we have for further College development; including the introduction of a new School of Allied Health Professions.

This new School will encompass pioneering undergraduate and postgraduate taught courses in Nursing with Leadership, Midwifery with Leadership, and Physiotherapy (all from 2018), along with our well-established and successful programme in Operating Department Practice.

We have also approved the introduction of a matrix structure of Teaching Schools and cross-School Research Departments within the College of Life Sciences, with effect from 2017/18.

Teaching Schools

  • Leicester Medical School
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Psychology
  • School of Allied Health Professions

Research Departments

  • Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour (incorporating the Centre for Systems Neuroscience)
  • Infection, Immunity and Inflammation
  • Health Sciences (Departmental host of the Diabetes Research Centre)
  • Cardiovascular Sciences
  • Molecular and Cell Biology
  • Genetics and Genome Biology (renamed – previously Department of Genetics). The Department of Cancer Studies has been incorporated into the Department of Genetics and Genome Biology and a new Leicester Cancer Research Centre established in its place.

As the College integrates its teaching and research missions, from 2017/18, all academic staff will be a member of a Research Department and all will be affiliated to a Teaching School.

Share this page: