Staff Awards finalists announced

Posted by rmt22 at Oct 08, 2019 11:05 AM |
The shortlist for this year's Discovering Excellence Staff Awards has now been announced.

Thank you to everyone who made a nomination for the Discovering Excellence Staff Awards, which recognise the amazing contributions of our colleagues.

This year we received a huge number of nominations, 389 in total, more than a hundred up on last year’s total! This reflects the sheer amount of hard work taking place across the University and the judges have had an incredibly tough time narrowing these down to your finalists.

So without further ado, please congratulate this year’s Discovering Excellence Staff Awards finalists.

Research Excellence Award

Professor Emma Bunce: School of Physics and Astronomy

Dr Corinne Fowler: School of Arts

Professor Rodrigo Quian Quiroga: Department of Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour

Research Team of the Year

Leicester Microbial and Infectious Diseases Network

Van Geest Multi-omics Research Team

Virtual Vauxhall Gardens

Student Recruitment and Retention Award

Dr Sarah Lee: School of Geography, Geology and the Environment

Dr Diana Pinto: School of Psychology

Student Recruitment Team: School of Archaeology and Ancient History

Teaching Excellence Award

Dr Richard Craggs: School of Informatics

Professor John Goodwin: School of Media, Communication and Sociology

Dr Dylan Williams: School of Chemistry

Teaching Team of the Year

3D Printed Models Team

Modern Languages Teaching Team

Museum Studies Distance Learning Team (MS Flex)

Student Experience Champion

Amy Clarke: School of Criminology

Dr Paul Jenkins: Director of Music

Dr Mervyn Roy and Dr Simon Vaughan: School of Physics and Astronomy

Exceptional Team Member

Deborah Fish: Student Success Team, SAAS

Louise Taylor: College of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities

Dr Judith West: Leicester Medical School

Impact Champion

Phil Horspool: English Language Teaching Unit

Dr Suzie Imber: School of Physics and Astronomy

William Wells: Research and Enterprise Division

People Champion

Dr Maribel Canto-Lopez: Leicester Law School

Tamara Hissett: Career Development Service – Student Development Team

Dr Felicity James: School of Arts

Professional Services Team of the Year

Admissions Team – Medicine, Nursing and Midwifery

Personalised Calendar Services Project Team

School of Business Professional Services Operations Management Team

Inspiring Leader

Professor Sarah Davies: School of Geography, Geology and the Environment

Dr Catherine Morley: School of Arts

Dr Angie Pears: Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Equalities Champion

Dr Jackie Sanchez Taylor: School of Media, Communication and Sociology

Dr Sarah Scott: School of Archaeology and Ancient History

Harriet Smailes: Student Welfare Team

The winners will be announced at the Discovering Excellence Awards celebration event, which is to be held on Thursday 14 November 2019.

Last year’s winners can be found on the Discovering Excellence webpages.

Share this page: