Being true Citizens of Change - winners of the 2020 Pomerance Prize announced

Posted by bv39 at Jun 09, 2020 03:47 PM |
The University is thrilled to announce the winners of the 2020 Pomerance Prize for Music.

The Pomerance Prize, awarded yearly through a legacy gift in memory of the father of Jane Read, is awarded to students who have made outstanding contributions to music at the University of Leicester. This year’s winners are:

  • Jeremy Murphy (3rd year Physics) Jeremy is recognised for his dedicated work with the Band & Gigs Society as both a musician and a committee member, as well as for his promotional support of other music events within the University.
  • Abdullah Garewal (5th year Medicine.) Abdullah is a talented self-taught musician who finds the time to perform with the Big Band, showing commitment and dedication despite his busy schedule as a medical student.
  • Iain Timmins (PhD Medical Statistics.) During his time with the Chamber Choir, Iain has grown from an inexperienced occasional singer to an accomplished performer. He has worked hard on his vocal technique and is an asset to the choir both chorally and as a soloist.
  • Catherine Smith-Dance (Final Year Maths.) Catherine joined Concert Band as a fresher and has graduated from third clarinettist to Co-Principal and soloist, rarely missing a rehearsal. She also volunteered to lead the group as President this academic year, helping and supporting other members.
  • Gracie Carpenter (Final Year French.) Gracie is not only a fine soprano singer, performing regularly with UoL Chorus, but also an advocate for music as a tool for recovery from mental health struggles. As Chorus President she has ably led the group through a number of challenges.
  • Elizabeth Brocklehurst (Final Year French.) Elizabeth has been committed to music since coming to University in 2016, being involved with multiple groups, and this year took on the role of President of UoL Orchestra. She is also a talented multi-instrumentalist and has recently begun to sing with Big Band.
  • Oluwaseun Orimongunje (1st Year Engineering.) Oluwaseun is both Wellbeing and Inclusion Officer and Media Officer for LUV: Leicester University Voices. He consistently goes above and beyond to do his best for the group and to provide support to his fellow students.
  • Michal Chorazak (Final Year Computer Science.) Michal rejoined the Leicester music community this year after his year abroad. He is not only an excellent guitarist and saxophonist, but also a talented composer.
  • Sasha Lawrence (Final Year Geology.) Sasha is a fantastic soprano singer, viola player, guitarist and composter, and has been an Alumni Music Scholar for the past two years. She sang at the 2019 summer Graduation ceremonies. She is also an active member of the Music Association Committee.

Each of these talented students has helped to share and grow the love of music within the University community, whether through exemplary performance, making the arts more accessible, or facilitating participation for others.

The 9 winners, who are studying widely varying subjects across different year groups, are rightly honoured to have been nominated. They join previous winners such as classical singer Andrew Radford and singer/songwriter Shimon Atunde, who is currently studying for his PhD at the University.

Share this page: