NIHR Leicester BRC - Cardiovascular Theme

To telephone any of these numbers from outside of Leicester please prefix with 0116.


Administrative Staff

Daniel Brewer Research Administrator 204 4769
Kelly Cooper Research Administrator 258 3637
Dianne Dennis TMF Receptionist/Administrator 258 3385
Kelley Green Senior Research Administrator 204 4768
Jenny Middleton SCAD Research Administrator 258 3828
Dawn Woods GENVASC Research Administrator 204 4773
Sarah Worthy Senior Research Administrator 258 3815
Rebecca Wrack Research Administrator 258 3814




Academic Staff

Name and Position

Dr David Adlam
Senior Lecturer in Acute and Interventional Cardiology

204 4751

Professor Matt Bown
Professor of Vascular Surgery and BRU Training Lead

252 3299
Dr Emma Chung
Lecturer in Ultrasound Physics
258 6071
Professor Tony Gershlick
Professor of Interventional Cardiology
Consultant Cardiologist, UHL
258 3035
Professor Alison Goodall
Professor of Thrombosis and Haemostasis
258 3026
Professor Gerry McCann
NIHR Fellow and Professor of Cardiac Imaging 

204 4750
Professor Gavin Murphy
BHF Professor of Cardiac Surgery
258 3054
Professor Andre Ng
Professor of Cardiac Electrophysiology

Consultant Cardiologist and Electrophysiologist, UHL

250 2438
Professor Leong Loke Ng
Deputy Director of LCBRU
Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics
250 2449
Professor Tom Robinson
Professor of Stroke Medicine
Consultant Physician, UHL
252 3187
Professor Sir Nilesh Samani
BHF Professor of Cardiology
204 4758

Professor Iain Squire
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine

258 3041

Professor Toru Suzuki

Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine

204 4741
Dr William Toff
Senior Lecturer in Cardiology
250 2500

Professor Shu Ye

Professor of Cardiovascular Molecular Medicine and Genetics

204 4754




Research Fellows and Research Students

M Zubair Israr PhD Student
Lakimini Liyanage PhD Student
Aayushi Panchal PhD Student
Meeta Patel PhD Student
Virag Patel PhD Student
Ben Richards PhD Student
Svetlana Stoma PhD Student



Technical Services and Facilities Staff

Manish Asiani Scientific Officer 204 4743
Richard Bramley
Systems and Database Architect
204 4772
Chris Greengrass Project Manager (GENVASC)
204 4771
Dr Steven Hamby
204 4765
Shireen Kharodia Scientific Officer
204 4775
Daniel Lawday Data Integration Developer 204 4772
Dr Anna-Marie Marsh
Senior Chief Cardiac Research Physiologist
258 3414
Andrea Marshall Cardiovascular Research Manager 204 4774
Dr Chris Nelson
Medical Statistician
204 4745
Tara Maitland Research Governance Officer 204 4737
Vasil Stezhka
Database Officer
204 4772
Sue Sterland
IT Coordinator
204 4772
Dr Gavin Whyman Bioresource Manager 204 4742




Nursing Staff

Manjumol Abraham Research Nurse 258 3826 manjumol.abraham@uhl-tr-nhs-uk
Reenamol Abraham Research Nurse 258 3408
Lucy Aldridge Research Nurse 258 3817
Donna Alexander
Research Nurse
258 3839
Bony Anthony Research Nurse 258 3818
Emma Beeston Senior Research Nurse 204 4738
Ellie Clarke Research Nurse 250 3229
Sue Coolman Research Nurse 258 3613
Jude Fisher Research Nurse 250 2541

Caroline Gardiner-Hill Research Nurse 258 3049
Valerie Gaynor Research Nurse 258 3614
Camilla Gibson Research Nurse 250 2429
Jo Davison
Research Nurse
258 3827
Lathishia Joel-David Senior Research Nurse 258 3992
Kris Kenmuir-Hogg Research Nurse 258 3792
Shiji Legi
Research Nurse
258 3821
Sue Mackness Research Nurse 258 3813
Katrina Maxfield
Health Care Assistant
258 3813
Emma Parker
Senior Research Nurse
258 3862
Champa Patel Research Nurse
Libby Wadey Research Nurse 250 2541





Faculty Members

Dr Aidan Bolger Consultant in Adult Congenital Heart Disease, Universtiy Hospitals of Leicester
Professor Nick Brindle Professor of Cell Signalling, University of Leicester
Dr James Burton NIHR Clinical Scientist and Senior Lecturer, University of Leicester
Dr Derek Chin Consultant Cardiologist, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr Kamal Chitkara Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Derby Hospital
Dr Justin Cooke Consultant Cardiologist, Chesterfield Royal Hospital
Dr Pankaj Gupta Consultant Metabolic Physician/Chemical Pathologist, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr Simon Hetherington Consuttant Cardiologist and Clinical Lead, Cardiology Research, Kettering General Hospital
Dr Kelvin Lee Consultant Interventional Cardiologist, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust
Dr Ian Loke Consultant Cardiologist, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr Jeffrey Khoo Consultant Cardiologist, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr Jan Kovac Consultant Cardiologist, UHL
Dr Simon MacDonald Consultant Cardiologist in Adult Congenital Heart Disease, University Hospitals of Leicester
Professor Martyn Mahaut-Smith Department of Cell Physiology and Pharmacology, University of Leicester
Professor Ronney Panerai Professor of Physiological Measurement, University of Leicester
Honorary Consultant, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr Prashanth Patel Consultant Chemical Pathologist, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr Alastair Sandilands Consultant, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr Fernando Schlindwein Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering, University of Leicester
Dr Doug Skehan Clinical Director of Cardiology and Respiratory, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr David Sprigings Consultant Cardiologist, Northampton General Hospital
Professor Tom Spyt Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon, University Hospitals of Leicester
Dr Peter Stafford Consultant Cardiologist, University Hospitals of Leicester


Share this page:

Contact Us

NIHR Leicester Cardiovascular Biomedical Research Unit
BHF Cardiovascular Research Centre
Glenfield Hospital
Groby Road

tel:      +44 (0)116 204 4768
fax:     +44 (0)116 258 3198

Athena SWAN Silver Award