Squash and Rugby Union Midlands 1A BUCS League Title Success

Posted by lcj11 at Feb 01, 2018 03:34 PM |
Yesterday afternoon saw the University of Leicester and Team Leicester women’s Squash 1st team and the men’s Rugby Union 1st team secure their respective Midlands 1A titles.

The women’s Squash 1st team Leanne Herbert (sports scholar), Laura Burr, Nora Battermann and Amelia Crew) secured the Midland 1A league title on Wednesday afternoon by beating Birmingham University 2nd’s 4-0; remaining undefeated this season has been a significant factor in their league success alongside the coaching of Simon Taylor.

The men’s Rugby Union 1st team secured their second successive Midlands 1A title in a tough encounter with Warwick  University 1st team at Stoughton Road playing fields with Leicester coming away with a 20 points to 5 points win.

The team who secured the title included the following players.
1. George Taylor-Walker: 2. Bradley Ugodulunwa: 3. Daniel Ali (scholar): 4. Sam Cranswick: 5. Simon Meades: 6. Tom John Richardson: 7. Jack Dickinson: 8. Seun Coker: 9. Jon Diviney: 10. Liam Browne: 11. Gavin Mainds: 12. Alex Murray: 13. James Wise: 14. Declan Nwachukwu: 15. Alex Wilcockson: 16. Harry Morris: 17. Luke Fred Cerely: 18. Matt Peters: 19. James Crowson: 20. Max Johnson: 21. Tom Lawson: 22. Oliver Campbell.

Credit for this title success must also go to players who have played for the 1st team in previous BUCS fixtures and all of the coaching staff.

Both teams will continue to play their remaining BUCS fixtures before focusing preparations on their annual varsity fixture and their BUCS promotion match in March.

Filed under:

Share this page:


The Official Promotional Merchandise Supplier for Sport & Active Life.

The Official Sponsors for The Women's Football and Futsal Club.