Technicians' Summit

Posted by gmcl1 at Jan 05, 2017 01:59 PM |

The University of Warwick will host the UK’s Higher Education Technicians Summit 2017 (HETS 2017) on 31 May 2017, in partnership with Midlands Innovation and the Science Council. HETS 2017 promotes a professional identity for technical staff in higher education and beyond. Registration for the event is free and includes lunch. Due to limited spaces, early registration is highly recommended.

Warwick’s Vice Chancellor Professor Stuart Croft will open the event, with speakers including Professor Dame Carol Robinson (Doctor Lee’s Professor at the University of Oxford), Sir Paul Nurse (Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, Chief Executive and Director of the Francis Crick Institute) and Professor Lord Kumar Bhattacharyya (Chairman and founder of the Warwick Manufacturing Group). Workshop sessions will focus on professional development and networking opportunities with a range of “hot topics”.

The Higher Education Technicians Summit will once again publicly celebrate the skills, talent and experience of technicians across the UK through the “Papin Prizes”, a series of awards to be made to technicians who have demonstrated excellence. The deadline for nominations is 31 March 2017.

The Awards Categories include:

  • Research – a technician who has made a significant contribution to research
  • Teaching – a technician that has made a significant contribution to the student teaching and learning experience
  • Newcomer – an individual who has embarked on a technical career within the past 4 years and shown exceptional promise – for example, this may be a trainee or apprentice technician
  • Core Research Facility – technician within a central research facility/platform that has provided exceptional skills/expertise
  • Infrastructure – a technician that has made a significant contribution to the day to day infrastructure to support research and/or teaching – for example, roles may include technical staff who look after building facilities or technicians that provide key day to day services
  • Outreach/Community – a technician that has made a significant contribution to community/outreach activities
  • Technical Team – a technical team who have worked together to deliver excellence
  • Lifetime Achievement – an award to recognise continued excellence and/or significant achievement across an individual’s technical career

Share this page:

Contact us:

Research support enquiries:

Enterprise enquiries:

0116 252 2437