Leicester scientist wins prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry award

Posted by es328 at May 09, 2017 09:36 AM |
Professor Andy Smith’s contributions to chemical science rewarded with Toxicology Award

Issued by the University of Leicester Press Office on 9 May 2017

An image of Professor Andy Smith is available via: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/nk81bdyjog99vns/AAAqDCzevn8BMmca_jLbfL2ea?dl=0

Professor Andy Smith, who works at the MRC Toxicology Unit, University of Leicester, is the Royal Society of Chemistry Toxicology Award winner for 2017.

Professor Smith works to understand how some environmental chemicals are toxic and the risks that they pose to individual people.

On receiving the award, he said: “I am delighted to be selected to receive the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Toxicology Award. I believe this award reflects the importance of mechanistic chemistry in understanding the many aspects of toxicology in rapidly changing fields of hazard identification and risk assessment and in the safety of medicines and food.”

The Toxicology Award is awarded for the contributions of chemical science to occupational and environmental toxicology. Professor Smith receives £2000, a medal and a certificate.

Dr Robert Parker, chief executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said: “It is an honour to celebrate the innovation and expertise of our community through our prizes and awards.

“We know that chemistry can be a powerful force for good, and quality research and communication of that research are more important than ever before.

“Our charitable mission is to advance excellence in the chemical sciences, and we are proud to celebrate our inspiring and influential winners, who share that mission.”

An illustrious list of 50 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including all of the 2016 chemistry winners, Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa.


Share this page: