University of Leicester takes Varsity crown again

Posted by pt91 at Mar 23, 2017 05:00 PM |
Annual contest of University of Leicester and De Montfort University sports teams culminated on 22 March at Leicester Tigers’ Welford Road stadium

Issued by University of Leicester Press Office on 23 March 2017

Photographs from the men’s and women’s rugby matches are available to download (credit: University of Leicester) at:

The University of Leicester are Varsity champions for 2017 after a hard fought battle with local rivals DMU. They claimed the trophy after they wrapped up a frenetic few days of sport to crown their Varsity title with two wins at the Leicester Tigers stadium.

This year’s Varsity was one of the closest ever, with DMU taking an early lead on in the standings thanks to wins in the badminton, archery and basketball on Saturday.

Leicester clawed back to level the scores on Monday thanks to wins in American Football and swimming, following 3 wins by the Netball club on the Sunday. The men’s and women’s football matches, which had to be hastily rearranged thanks to heavy rain, both went to Leicester, with the women annihilating their opponents 4-0 and the men squeaking a 1-0 win.

A frenetic day of action on 22 March saw points go either way in the golf, squash, rowing, lacrosse and football 2nds and 3rds, so by the time the action moved to Leicester Tigers’ Welford Road stadium in the evening for the traditional end of Varsity showdown, Leicester had already clinched the title.

But the drama did not stop there. First up were the women, who extended their Varsity unbeaten run to 14 years with a 17-3 win.

The men’s match was even more of a nail-biter, with DMU looking like they were going to take the honours, as after leading throughout the match, Leicester missed a penalty in front of the posts with just a few minutes to go that would have won it, and then knocked on a gilt-edged scoring opportunity. But with literally the last move of the match Leicester went over in the corner to take the game 17-13 unleashing bedlam in the stands.

Matt Weir, Director of Sport at the University of Leicester, said: “I would like to express my congratulations to every single competitor who has represented the University of Leicester in this last week. Each and every one of you has done the University proud with your dedication and attitude in this incredible Varsity series. Retaining the Varsity trophy for another year means our unbeaten streak remains intact, a fantastic achievement for all involved.

“Additionally I would like to acknowledge the incredible support we have witnessed this year from staff and students of the University. Your added influence has been the driving force for many of ours teams and it has been wonderful to see the University unite behind our teams.

“Finally I would like to thank all the staff from both Universities who have made this all possible. Your hard work has allowed for one of the best Varsity competitions in recent memory.”


Share this page: