University of Leicester recognises outstanding contributions to its medical research and education

Posted by ap507 at May 26, 2016 10:10 AM |
Lifetime Achievement and Special Recognition awards celebrate lifelong commitment and support

Issued by University of Leicester Press Office on 26 May 2016

Two individuals who have distinguished themselves by a lifelong dedication to the work of the University of Leicester are to be honoured today (26 May).

The University’s College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology will present a Lifetime Achievement award and a Special Recognition award to mark two significant contributions to the College’s success at a ceremony on Thursday 26 May.

Mr David Jones, now retired as manager of the College’s Biomedical workshop, will be the first recipient of the College’s Lifetime Achievement Award, which acknowledges the dedication and commitment that David evidenced during his long career at the University.

The occasion will also mark the presentation of a Special Recognition award to Professor Alan Buchan that honours his contribution to the formation of Leicester’s Medical School and its links with local healthcare providers.

The awards will be given during a ceremony at the University’s new Centre for Medicine where over a hundred honorary titles will be bestowed upon healthcare professionals who have contributed to the University’s academic mission.

Professor Philip Baker, Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of the College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology and Dean of the School of Medicine, said: “We are marking two very special individuals who have made quite remarkable contributions to the College.

“The awards reflect our gratitude, and also the long term impact of their endeavours.

“I’m particularly delighted that friends and family members of our award winners are able to join us as we celebrate the success of a very special cadre of talented individuals before an audience of senior members of the University staff and local healthcare leaders.”

David Jones was an engineering technician, then the manager of the Biomedical workshop, arriving at Leicester in 1984 and retiring in 2014. His skill and enterprise provided the bespoke and tailor-made equipment that was usually impossible to obtain commercially and allowed the University to pursue research ideas at a fraction of the cost that would have been incurred had it been outsourced. More importantly however, equipment that David designed was customised to be at the cutting-edge.

David said: “To receive such a prestigious award in recognition of my contributions to the College of Medicine Biological Sciences and Psychology over the past thirty years is truly a great honour. I feel very proud and humble to be held in such high regard.”

Professor Alan Buchan was Leicester’s County Medical Officer from 1967 until the creation of the Leicestershire Area Health Authority in 1975. He worked very closely with Maurice Shock, the then Vice-Chancellor of the University of Leicester, and Robert Kilpatrick, the Dean of the Medical School in getting the University of Leicester’s new Medical School established.

He was heavily involved in the recruitment of the Foundation Clinical Professors and ensuring their Honorary Contracts as well as being responsible for the re-development of the clinical services at the Leicester Royal, General and the new Glenfield Hospital, which became the teaching hospitals for the new medical school. His son, Professor Alastair Buchan, will be collecting the award on his behalf.

The ceremony starts at 5pm in the Centre for Medicine at the University of Leicester. Attendance is by invitation only.


Notes to editors:

For more information contact Dawn Kemp on

Share this page: