University of Leicester student is finalist in global competition

Posted by ap507 at Jul 08, 2015 12:30 PM |
The Reaxys PhD Prize recognizes young chemists conducting original and innovative research in organic, organometallic and inorganic chemistry

Issued by University of Leicester Press Office on 8 July 2015

Contact to request images.

Cecilia Casadei, from the Raven Group and Moody Group at the University of Leicester and the Large Scale Structures Group at the Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble, has been selected as a finalist in a PhD prize competition.

Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services, announced the 45 finalists for the 2015 Reaxys PhD Prize. Selected from over 450 submissions from around the globe, these 45 talented chemists join the Reaxys Prize Club; a community of inspiring minds making meaningful contributions to chemistry. As part of this community, the finalists have the opportunity to share their work, connect with internationally recognized chemists and drive their research forward.

All 45 finalists are invited to present their research at the 2015 Reaxys PhD Prize Symposium, September 7-8, 2015, in Hong Kong. Travel bursaries will be provided to support attendance and registration fees. As a new element of the Symposium, a small number of the finalists will be asked to give oral presentations. From the presentations, the Reaxys Advisory Board and prize coordinators will select the three final winners of the 2015 Reaxys PhD Prize based on the originality, innovation, relevance and methodological rigor of the presented work. The winners will be recognized at the awards banquet following the Symposium.

In its sixth year, the Reaxys PhD Prize recognizes chemistry PhD students and recent graduates, the prize continues to foster creativity in groundbreaking chemistry by identifying the chemistry leaders of tomorrow and empowering them to magnify the impact of their work.

Congratulating Cecilia, Professor Emma Raven, from the University of Leicester said: “Cecilia has published some outstanding work during her PhD studies, and it is no surprise to me that the Reaxys committee have acknowledged her contribution. I'm sure she is looking forward to telling the Reaxys panel about her work".

Cecilia said: “I am honoured by the shortlisting for the Reaxys PhD prize 2015 and I am looking forward to the nomination ceremony in Hong Kong.”

“This year we are shining a brighter spotlight on the extraordinary research that comes together for this prestigious award,” explains Prof. Dr. Martin Jansen, Director Emeritus of the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research in Stuttgart, Germany. As a member of the review board, he has managed the review and decision process along with other board members, all world-renowned chemists. “We also aim to enhance the experience for our new finalists and other attendees by having our Symposium at an international venue that fuels cutting-edge chemistry,” says Jansen.

For more information about the Reaxys PhD Prize and Symposium, visit The Reaxys® solutions empower early discovery in drug development with access to over 500 million published experimental facts on compounds, reactions and bioactivity, including structure–activity relationship (SAR) data supporting hit identification, lead optimization and synthesis planning. For more information about Reaxys, visit

Notes to editors:

This year's finalists are:

  • Jonathan Bauer from the Strohmann group, Dortmund University of Technology
  • Keith Bentley from the Wolf group, Georgetown University
  • Nicholas Bruno from the Buchwald group, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • Matthew Burns from the Aggarwal group, University of Bristol

Cecilia Casadei from the Raven Group and Moody Group at the University of Leicester and the Large Scale Structures Group at the Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble

  • Pavla Eliasova from the Čejka group, Charles University
  • Patrick Fier from the Hartwig group, University of California Berkeley
  • Meng Gao from the Lei group, Wuhan University
  • Alvaro Gutierrez Bonet from the Martin group, Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ)
  • William Hart-Cooper from the Bergman and Raymond groups, University of California Berkeley
  • Hiroki Hayashi from the Ishihara group, Nagoya University
  • Jian He from the Yu group, Scripps Research Institute
  • Tomohiro Higashino from the Osuka group, Kyoto University
  • Yunzhe Jiao from the Jones group, University of Rochester
  • Andrew Jupp from the Goicoechea group, University of Oxford
  • Eric Keske from the Crudden group, Queen's University
  • Alexander Kilpatrick from the Cloke group, University of Sussex
  • Sandra King from the Herzon group, Yale University
  • Peter Korevaar from the Meijer group, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Matthew Langton from the Beer group, University of Oxford
  • Hsin-Yu Lee from the Wong group, National Taiwan University
  • Gang Li from the Norton group, Columbia University
  • Lauren Longobardi from the Stephan group, University of Toronto
  • Javier López Andarias from the Martín group, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Titus Masese from the Uchimoto group, Kyoto University
  • Chiara Musumeci from the Samorì group, University of Strasbourg
  • Kelli Ogawa from the Boydston group, University of Washington
  • Steven O'Sullivan from the Murphy group, University of Strathclyde
  • Henry Pepper from the George group, University of Adelaide
  • Brandon Rosen from the Baran group, Scripps Research Institute
  • Tanmoy Saha from the Talukdar group, Indian Institute of Science Education & Research, Pune
  • Alexander Schoedel from the Zaworotko group, University of South Florida
  • Sivaprakash Sengodan from the Kim group, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST)
  • Indranil Sinha from the Mueller group, University of Muenster
  • John Tellis from the Molander group, University of Pennsylvania
  • Shigenobu Umemiya from the Hayashi group, Tohoku University
  • Daiki Umeyama from the Kitagawa group, Kyoto University
  • Shin-nosuke Uno from the Urano group, University of Tokyo
  • Amit Vernekar from the Mugesh group, Indian Institute of Science
  • Thorsten vom Stein from the Leitner group, RWTH Aachen University
  • Xiao-Ye Wang from the Pei group, Peking University
  • Jens Willwacher from the Fürstner group, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung
  • Tomohiro Yasukawa from the Kobayashi group, University of Tokyo
  • Chenjie Zeng from the Jin group, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Taotao Zou from the Che group, University of Hong Kong

Share this page: