University of Leicester celebrates international leaders and pioneers

Posted by pt91 at Jul 13, 2015 01:05 PM |
Twelve distinguished personalities to be honoured at graduation ceremonies from 14-17 July

Issued by University of Leicester Press Office on 13 July 2015

Contact to request images.

The University of Leicester will celebrate the achievements of leaders and pioneers in their fields by conferring them with honorary degrees at ceremonies this week (14-17 July).

Recipients who have associations with the University of Leicester include former heads of state and scientists developing cutting-edge technologies that revolutionise our lives.

The distinguished figures honoured at the University’s graduation ceremonies from 14 - 17 July have all demonstrated their capacity for leadership at a local, national or international level.

They will receive their honorary degrees at the ceremonies at De Montfort Hall before an audience of graduating students and their families.

Those to be honoured at the University of Leicester’s summer graduation ceremonies in 2015 are:

Tuesday 14 July 2015

3pm ceremony:

Professor Douglas Fearon (Doctor of Science)

Professor of Immunology at the University of Cambridge and Fellow of the Royal Society

Professor Keith Waddell (Doctor of Science)

Opthalmologist who worked for a number of years as a doctor in Uganda and neighbouring countries

Wednesday 15 July 2015

3pm ceremony:

Professor Alf Adams (Doctor of Science)

Inventor of the strained-layer quantum-well laser and University of Leicester graduate

Mr Robert Joyce (Doctor of Science)

Group Engineering Director for Jaguar Land Rover and University of Leicester graduate

Thursday 16 July 2015

11am ceremony:

Professor Mike Batty (Doctor of Laws)

Urban planner and geographer who founded the Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis (CASA)

H.E. Mrs Atifete Jahjaga (Doctor of Laws)

The fourth President of Republic of Kosovo and the first woman to be elected to the office

Ms Anita Linsell (Doctor of Laws)

International businesswoman who served as Chair of the University of Leicester Alumni Association

3pm ceremony:

Ms Jane Esuantsiwa Goldsmith (Doctor of Laws)

Women’s and human rights activist, consultant to voluntary sector organisations and former President of the University of Leicester’s Students’ Union

Friday 17 July 2015

11am ceremony:

Dr Roger Bettles (Distinguished Honorary Fellow)

Formerly Chief Executive of the Fosse Health NHS Trust who also served the University of Leicester as Chairman of Council and Pro-Chancellor

Mr Jyrki Katainen (Doctor of Laws)

Vice President of the European Commission responsible for Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness who attended University of Leicester as an Erasmus exchange student

3pm ceremony:

Professor Sir Robert Burgess (Doctor of Laws)

Retired Vice-Chancellor of the University of Leicester and prominent figure in the development of Higher Education

Ms Alison Balsom (Doctor of Music)

Award-winning classical trumpeter and advocate of the importance of music education

President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Paul Boyle said: “We are delighted that the University will be awarding honorary degrees to candidates who have made impacts in a wide range of unique ways. Our awards this year honour contributions to international politics, science, medicine, education and music, and many of these individuals have strong links to the University, the City and the County.  As we celebrate the achievements of our own graduates it is fitting that they have this opportunity to see how they can aspire to be future leaders in their chosen field.”


Share this page: