Leicester biologist nominated for national teaching award

Posted by pt91 at Apr 23, 2015 11:25 AM |
Dr Alan Cann among shortlist for Higher Education Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award

Issued by the Society of Biology on 22 April 2015

Dr Alan Cann, from Leicester, has been shortlisted for the Society of Biology’s Higher Education Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award.

Dr Cann, a senior lecturer in microbiology at the University of Leicester, is in the final four hoping to win a £1,000 prize. The winner will be announced on the 6th May, at a meeting of Heads of University Biosciences (HUBS) in Milton Keynes.

On receiving news of being shortlisted, Dr Cann said:

“The University of Leicester has always performed well in this competition and I am proud to be able to continue this tradition.

“My nomination recognises a new practical module that I have developed which is taken by all Biological Sciences students at the University.”

The Society of Biology offers the annual award to teachers who have shown an outstanding contribution to higher education in the biosciences. The scheme rewards lecturers who have developed innovative and inspirational teaching methods, as well as having supported colleagues and undertaken professional development.

Dr Cann faces stiff competition from Dr Mark Clements from the University of Westminster, Dr Dave Lewis at the University of Leeds and Dr Sohag Saleh of Imperial College London.

Rachel Lambert-Forsyth CBiol CSci MSB, director of education and training at the Society of Biology said:

"This year’s award yet again highlights the invaluable role played by teachers in Higher Education. The shortlisted individuals displayed a dedicated commitment to student learning through their outstanding, innovative and research-based teaching. Congratulations to the four finalists who each play such a vital role in inspiring and educating the next generation of biologists.”

The winner receives the Ed Wood Memorial Prize of £1,000 to spend as they wish; one year's subscription to an Oxford University Press journal of their choice; and one year's free membership of the Society of Biology. The remaining finalists receive £150 and one year's free membership of the Society of Biology.

The shortlisted candidates were required to write a case study as evidence of how their teaching practice has benefitted students’ learning experience. They were then asked to present their case study to a judging panel in London, followed by a 45 minute interview with the panel. The case studies will be publicly available on the Society's website after the winner has been announced on the 6th May 2015.



Natasha Little
Media Manager, Society of Biology

Tel: 020 7685 2553

E-mail: natashalittle@societyofbiology.org

Notes for editors
For more information on the Society of Biology Higher Education Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award please see our website: https://www.societyofbiology.org/get-involved/awards-and-competitions/he-teacher-of-the-year

The Ed Wood Memorial Prize is named in honour of Professor Edward J Wood, who established and became the first director of the Learning and Teaching Support Network for Bioscience, subsequently the UK Centre for Bioscience, and who dedicated himself to the promotion of biochemistry and molecular biology education.

The Society of Biology www.societyofbiology.org is a single unified voice for biology: advising Government and influencing policy; advancing education and professional development; supporting our members, and engaging and encouraging public interest in the life sciences. The Society represents a diverse membership of individuals, learned societies and other organisations.

Share this page: