University of Leicester School of Management wins prestigious Small Business Charter Award

Posted by er134 at Jun 05, 2014 02:01 PM |
Dr Angus Cameron attended award ceremony at 10 Downing Street

Issued by University of Leicester Press Office on 5 June 2014

University of Leicester School of Management is celebrating after attaining the Small Business Charter bronze Award today – in recognition of the role it has played in helping to kick-start British enterprise.

The Small Business Charter Award scheme – which University of Leicester School of Management (ULSM) is a trailblazer member of - has already helped 4,700 students to find work placements in Britain’s exciting micro-business and start-up sector. Small Business Charter business schools have directly helped over 8000 small businesses – working with them through workshops, mentoring and other business support.  Over 800 new businesses have already been started as a result of Small Business Charter schools.

By receiving the award, University of Leicester School of Management has demonstrated exceptional dedication to helping improve links with and support the small business community in the local area.

Dr Angus Cameron, Deputy Head of the School, was accompanied to the Downing Street event by Mr Mike Deely, CEO of Kettering-based KLM/Headlands and a member of the ULSM External Advisory Board.

Dr Cameron, who accepted the award on behalf of ULSM, said: "This is an important scheme which recognises the crucial role that UK Business Schools can play in developing SME growth.  ULSM works successfully with enterprises in Leicester and the wider region and we are looking forward to expanding this activity in the future. The Charter award recognises the high quality work that the University of Leicester does with SMEs and is a great encouragement for us to do even more."

The award brings significant benefits – it means that ULSM will have the ability to play an active role in schemes such as Growth Vouchers, Growth Accelerators and Start-Up Loans provided by the Government – meaning they can directly invest in new start-ups and entrepreneurs.

The Small Business Charter Award ceremony took place today (5th June 2014) at 10 Downing Street. The awards were presented by Lord Young, an adviser to the Prime Minister on small business and enterprise and Sir Peter Bonfield, chair of The Small Business Charter Management Board and former chairman of BT.

The Small Business Charter originated following Lord Young’s report ‘Growing Your Business’, which was aimed at bringing business schools, business and entrepreneurs closer together to deliver real change. Supported by the Association of Business Schools, Lord Young and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills the Small Business Charter Awards offers a springboard to unlocking support and investment for students, start-ups and small businesses. The Charter also follows the Association of Business Schools’ Innovation Taskforce report.

Congratulating the Small Business Charter award-winners for their trail-blazing work, Lord Young – an adviser to the Prime Minister on small business and enterprise, said: “The recipients of today’s award have all demonstrated exceptional dedication to improving links with and supporting small businesses in their local area, already creating over 800 jobs.

“Our world-class universities and business schools are a key part of the UK economy – even more so as a result of this initiative.

“I hope that these awards will be the first of many and build on the outstanding work our business schools do to boost enterprise locally.”

Sir Peter Bonfield CBE FReng, Chair of the Small Business Charter Management Board, said: “I am delighted to be involved with the Small Business Charter. This is an exciting initiative which recognises the value of small businesses. We have a tremendous opportunity to nurture innovation and enterprise and support the next generation of great British entrepreneurs.”

Rekha Mehr, interim Managing Director, Small Business Charter, said: “Micro-businesses make up 95% of UK businesses and play a crucial role in the structure of our economy. We need to further their growth and the Small Business Charter recognizes UK business schools who are doing just that. Our accredited schools have made real impact in the last 18 months, directly supporting over 8,000 businesses, placing over 4,700 students on real business projects and helping students to start over 800 new businesses.”

Michael Hayman, Co-founder Seven Hills and StartUp Britain and member of the Small Business Charter Management Board, said: “The Small Business Charter unleashes the full potential of business schools as an asset for British enterprise. The schools celebrated today are set to become a nationwide network of entrepreneur-focused hubs for talent, creativity and ideas. The work underway and the work to come is about backing growth by realising new sources of skill and innovation. The schools are a national asset enhancing both the scale up potential of existing firms and supercharging the UK's energetic start up culture. Today is an important point of recognition for the twenty pioneering schools that are exemplars of academia providing an infrastructure for the growth of small business. It is a culture of collaboration that is set to be accelerated as the Charter becomes a hallmark of national enterprise excellence.”


Notes to editors

The 20 Business Schools being awarded the Small Business Charter are:

-          Aston University, Aston Business School

-          Coventry University, Coventry Business School

-          Edinburgh Napier Business School

-          Kingston University, Kingston Business School

-          Lancaster University Management School

-          Loughborough University School of Business and Economics

-          Manchester Metropolitan University Business

-          Nottingham Trent University, Nottingham Business School

-          Southampton Solent University, Faculty of Business, Sport & Enterprise

-          University College London, Department of Management Science and Innovation

-          University of Birmingham, Birmingham Business School

-          University of Leeds, Leeds University Business

-          University of Leicester School of Management

-          University of Liverpool Management School

-          University of Northampton Business School

-          University of Nottingham, Nottingham University Business School

-          University of Salford, Salford Business School

-          University of Strathclyde, Strathclyde Business School

-          University of the West of England, Bristol Business School

-          University of Wolverhampton Business School


For more information about the SBC:

For more information about Lord Young’s report:

For more information about the Association of Business Schools’ Innovation Taskforce:


Share this page: