Great buildings compete for prestigious awards

Posted by pt91 at Sep 22, 2011 04:45 PM |
Percy Gee Building is finalist for two 2011 ProCon Leicestershire Awards
Great buildings compete for prestigious awards

Credit: Martine Hamilton Knight Photography

Leicestershire and Rutland’s best new buildings have been named as finalists in the counties’ biggest architecture and construction awards.

The finalists of the ProCon Leicestershire Awards 2011, sponsored by RSM Tenon and Westleigh Developments, include schools and a university building, new homes, a YMCA, a hotel and even a garden room.

The finalists range from a small project costing just £125,000 to major schemes costing up to £150 million. They are located in the city of Leicester and the market towns and countryside of Leicestershire and Rutland.

The finalists for the ProCon Leicestershire Awards 2011 are:

Building of the Year, sponsored by Gateley

  • Hinckley Club for Young People (HC4YP)
  • The Percy Gee Building, University of Leicester
  • South Kilworth House

Large Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Marrons Solicitors

  • Catmose College Campus, Oakham
  • Freemen’s Meadow phases 1 & 4, Leicester
  • The Uppingham School Sports Centre

Small Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Leicester Mercury

  • Garden Room at Nelson Cottage, Kibworth Harcourt
  • Hicks Lodge, National Forest Cycle Centre, Moira
  • Kimcote Hall, Kimcote

Regeneration Project of the Year, sponsored by Howes Percival

  • Edinburgh House, Market Harborough
  • Leicester YMCA
  • St Martins House, Leicester

Sustainable Development of the Year, sponsored by De Montfort University

  • 146 new council houses in Leicester
  • The Percy Gee Building, University of Leicester
  • Oakham Church of England Primary School

The winners will be revealed before more than 600 property professionals and their clients at a ceremony at Leicester City’s King Power Stadium on November 10. All seats are sold already, but there is a waiting list for people keen to attend.

Judges for the ProCon Awards have described the finalists as an exceptional crop in what is the Awards’ ninth year.

Pam Allardice, chair of ProCon and a director at Howes Percival, said: “Despite the property and construction sector being hard hit by the ongoing poor economic climate, we had a large number of entries overall and very strong contenders for the awards in all categories

“It makes our judges’ job very difficult which is a nice problem to have and reflects well on the resilience of the sector and the quality of the construction projects happening in Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland.”

Patric Phelan, a director at corporate sponsor RSM Tenon, said: “The awards have enjoyed a fantastic response this year. The quality and the variety of the entries throughout all categories were remarkable.

“Having talked with other ProCon Awards judges I can say there were some very difficult calls to make in deciding which projects should be finalists. RSM Tenon is very pleased to be an ongoing supporter of the ProCon Awards, which do so much to celebrate and promote our finest new buildings and the people and companies which create them."

Chris Beighton, Managing Director at Westleigh Developments, said: “We are delighted to once again be supporting the ProCon Awards as a corporate sponsor. The high number of applications across all categories proves that the property and construction industry is performing well and we are very proud to be part of this. We are excited about the awards evening and wish everyone the very best of luck on the night.”


For press information, including detailed information about the finalists, and photography of the projects, please contact:

Andy Gilgrist, House PR 01536 772256 / 07989 562517

Share this page:

Older press releases

For press releases issued before 4 October 2010, please visit the old eBulletin site.

Get in touch

T: +44 (0)116 252 2160

The Press Office is open 9.00am-5.00pm, Monday to Friday.

For general enquiries about the University, contact the main switchboard on +44 (0)116 252 2522.