Prestigious prizes for outstanding teachers at University of Leicester

Posted by pt91 at Jul 15, 2011 12:09 PM |
University of Leicester celebrates excellence in teaching and learning

Issued by University of Leicester Press Office on 14 July 2011

The University of Leicester has celebrated excellence in teaching and learning through awards made to staff and students at its degree congregations.

Three members of staff and –for the first time- three students have been selected for honours presented before hundreds of parents and students from around the world gathered at De Montfort Hall.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Robert Burgess said: “University Teaching Fellowships  are awarded to promote excellence in teaching and learning and to recognise and celebrate the contributions of individuals who make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience. We congratulate the recipients for their exemplary work and it is fitting that their contributions to teaching and learning  are honoured before graduating students and their families.

“For the first time this year, we are also making Teaching Partnership Awards. These prestigious awards celebrate excellent contributions from students who teach or support learning, or who make a real impact by contributing directly to the enhancement of the student learning experience for themselves and their colleagues.  Winners have demonstrated in their application for a Teaching Partnership Award evidence of impact in one or more of the three award criteria: promoting and enhancing the student experience; supporting other students and influencing their learning; a commitment to their own development of teaching, learning and/or learning support skills.”

Of this year’s winners, Dr David Harper and Dr Katy McKenzie will receive their awards at a degree ceremony this week.  Since Dr Pamela Rogerson-Revell’s award recognises achievement in postgraduate learning and teaching she will receive her award at a January 2012 postgraduate degree ceremony.


Dr David Harper (Department of Biology)

In recognition of innovative curricular developments at undergraduate and postgraduate levels within the Department of Biology.

Dr Katy McKenzie (Department of Chemistry)

In recognition of her successful development of innovative solutions in teaching laboratory work directly supporting student learning in the Department of Chemistry.

Dr Pamela Rogerson-Revell (School of Education)

In recognition of her innovative approach to the development of e-learning support and resources at postgraduate level in the School of Education.


Mervyn Thomas (MBChB/PhD)

In recognition of his exception contribution to peer-led education and student support in the School of Medicine.

Kate Jennings (BA Human Geography)

In recognition of the impact of her contribution to the enhancement of the student experience as a course representative in the Department of Geography and as a student researcher in the Personal Tutor Project.

Gemma Riley (BSc Psychology with Sociology)

In recognition of her valuable contribution to the enhancement of the student experience both as a course representative in the School of Psychology and as a Project Coordinator in the review of the personal tutor system.

Share this page: