Professor David Phillips (Doctor of Science)

Wednesday 16 July, 3pm

Press comment

"It is a real pleasure to be awarded this honorary DSc by the University of Leicester, which I have visited and lectured in on many occasions. When I served as President of the Royal Society of Chemistry in the UK, I came to know all Departments of Chemistry in the UK, I would like to say how very impressed I was by the vigour and excellence of the Chemistry Department here at Leicester; the Department is small in comparison with some departments, but it punches well above its weight, and enjoys a truly international reputation. I have had long contact with Emeritus Professor John Holloway (we were fellow students in the University of Birmingham) and with Professors Paul Cullis and Emma Raven, via the Royal Society of Chemistry."


  • CBE 2012 (OBE 1999)
  • Professor of Physical Chemistry 1989 – 2006, Hofmann Professor of Chemistry, 1999 – 2006, now Professor Emeritus, and Dean, Faculties of Life Sciences and Physical Sciences, 2002-06, Imperial College London.
  • Educated at South Shields Grammar-Technical School and University of Birmingham (BSc and PhD)
  • Post doctoral fellow, University of Texas, 1964-66
  • Visiting Scientist, Institute of Chemical Physics, Academy of Sciences of USSR, Moscow, 1966-67
  • Lecturer 1967-73, Senior Lecturer 1973-76, Reader 1976-80, in Physical Chemistry, University of Southampton
  • Royal Institution of Great Britain: Wolfson Professor of Natural Philosophy, 1980-89
  • Acting Director and General Officer, BAAS, 1988-89
  • Member, Faraday Council, 1990-93
  • President, 2010-12, Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Nyholm Lecturer, Honorary, Royal Society of Chemistry, 1994
  • Chairman, London Gifted and Talented, 2003-8,
  • FRSC 1973
  • Fellow, Imperial College, London, 2008
  • Honorary FCGI 2004
  • Honorary Life Fellow: Royal Institution, 2005
  • BAAS, 2006
  • Honorary DSc: Birmingham, 2011; Southampton, 2012; Durham 2013; Leicester, 2014, Westminister, 2014
  • Honorary LLD: Bath, 2013
  • Michael Faraday Award, Royal Society, 1997
  • Porter Medal, European Photochemistry Association, the Inter-American Photochemistry Society, and the Asian and Oceanian Photochemistry Association, 2010

Share this page: