Professor Dame Sally Davies (Doctor of Science)

Thursday 17 July, 3pm


Professor Dame Sally Davies is the Chief Medical Officer for England and also advises the UK Government.  She holds responsibility for Research and Development, and is the Chief Scientific Adviser for the Department of Health.

The CMO is the independent advisor to the UK Government on all medical matters, with particular responsibilities regarding Public Health.  In particular, she provides professional leadership for Directors of Public Health in England.

The CMO carries the rank of Permanent Secretary and advises the Secretary of State for Health on medical matters.  She is also the professional head of the Department of Health’s medical staff and head of the Medical Civil Service.

The CMO supports the Health Secretary in strengthening the Government’s collective effort to protect, promote and improve the health and wellbeing of the people of England.

Dame Sally has been actively involved in NHS R&D from its establishment.  As Director-General she established the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) with a budget of £1 billion.

Dame Sally is a member of the World Health Organisation (WHO) Executive Board. She led the UK delegation to the WHO Ministerial Summit in November 2004 and the WHO Forum on Health Research in November 2008.  From 2000-2012 Dame Sally was a member of the WHO Global Advisory Committee on Health Research (ACHR).  She also chaired the Expert Advisory Committee for the development of the WHO research strategy, endorsed by the World Health Assembly in May 2010.  Dame Sally is a member of the International Advisory Committee for A*STAR, Singapore and has advised many others on research strategy and evaluation including the Australian NHMRC, Canadian CIHR and Norwegian Government.

Dame Sally was awarded a DBE (Dame Commander of the British Empire) in the New Year Honours 2009 for services to medicine and in September 2011 she was conferred as Emeritus Professor at Imperial College London.  Dame Sally was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society on 1 May 2014.


Share this page: