Add or remove members

If you are the owner of a University email distribution group, you can add and remove members of the email group yourself.

As an email distribution group owner that is visible in the Global Address List you can add and remove members using Outlook on the Web or Outlook.  It is easier to do this using Outlook on the Web.

If you have chosen not to display the distribution group in the Global Address List then you will not be able to add and remove members yourself.  Contact the IT Service Desk on 0116 252 2253 to add or remove members or request to unhide the distribution group from the Global Address List.

Outlook on the Web

  1. Go to the Email Distribution Groups Settings (this may take about 20 seconds to display)
  2. Under the Distribution groups I own find the group you wish to amend
  3. Double click on the group name or click Edit (pencil icon)
  4. Click on Membership
  5. To add new members:
    • Click on the + (plus) symbol
    • Search for the name
    • Either double click on the name or click + (plus) next to the name
    • You can add as many members to the list as you want. Click OK when you have finished.
    • Click Save
  6. To remove existing members:
    • Select the person to remove in the list of members
    • Click - (minus) to remove them
    • You can remove as many members as you want. Click OK when you have finished.
    • Click Save

    Outlook

    If you are using a University PC on campus, you can add and remove members from your University email group using Outlook:

    1. Start Outlook and view your emails
    2. Click Address Book on the right of the Home tab
      Address Book
    3. Search to find your University email group and double-click on its name in the list
    4. Click Modify Members…
      Modify members
    5. To add a new member to the group:
      • Click Add
      • Search to find the name in the list
      • Click Add ->
      • Click OK
    6. To remove someone from the group, select them in the list and click Remove
    7. Click OK twice to save your changes

    Hidden or disabled IT accounts

    When someone leaves the University their University IT account is disabled and will be hidden in the Address Book until it is permanently deleted. Some accounts are hidden for other reasons. When you view the membership of a distribution group you won't be able to see disabled IT accounts, but when you email the group you may receive messages back saying that the message is undeliverable to the specified disabled IT account(s). These undeliverable messages will stop once the disabled IT account is permanently deleted as they will automatically be removed from the distribution group at this point.

    Share this page: