Bank Holidays and Closure Days


Full-time members of staff are entitled to 8 bank holidays (also known as public holidays) and 6 University closure days. Two of the closure days are usually taken around the Easter weekend and the remaining 4 as part of the Christmas and New Year break.

The entitlement for staff working part-time is pro-rated. Please email or telephone the HR Advice Line on (0116) 252 2439 if you need more information.

Dates for 2017

New Year

Monday 2 January


Thursday 13 April

Friday 14 April

Monday 17 April

Tuesday 18 April

May Day

Monday 1 May

Spring Bank

Monday 29 May


Monday 28 August


Friday 22 December

Monday 25 December

Tuesday 26 December

Wednesday 27 December

Thursday 28 December

Friday 29 December

Note: Monday 1 January 2018 is a bank holiday, meaning the University will reopen on Tuesday 2 January 2018.


Dates for 2018

New Year

Monday 1 January


Thursday 29 March

Friday 30 March

Monday 2 April

Tuesday 3 April

May Day

Monday 7 May

Spring Bank

Monday 28 May


Monday 27 August


Monday 24 December

Tuesday 25 December

Wednesday 26 December

Thursday 27 December

Friday 28 December

Monday 31 December

Note: Tuesday 1 January 2019 is a bank holiday, meaning the University will reopen on Wednesday 2 January 2019.


Share this page:

ESS Portal

Employee Self-Service is available for staff to update some of their own staff record.  Find out more about Employee Self-Service, or go straight to the online facility by clicking on the button below.ESS Button


Having trouble saving changes?  Get some help.

Need to get in touch?

Find out how you can contact HR