English 4-11 Picture Book Awards

The English 4-11 Awards for the best children's picture books of the year

English 4-11 Best Picture Books Awards

Established in 1995, the awards are presented by the English Association to the best children's picture books of the year.  Awards are given to Fiction and Non-Fiction in age ranges 4-7 years and 7-11 years. The winning books are chosen by the editorial board of English 4-11, the journal for primary teachers published by the English Association and the United Kingdom Literacy Association, from a shortlist selected by a panel of teachers and Primary specialists.

For further details about the 2018 competition and to complete a submission form  - click here

Recap: 2017 Book Awards Winners - for books first published in the UK in 2016

And the winners are

The four winning books

Fiction 4-7 Years

Oi Dog! by Kes Gray, illustrated by Jim Field, Hachette

Fiction 7-11 Years

The Journey by Francesca Sanna, Flying Eye Books

Non-Fiction 4-7 Years

The Big Book of Bugs by Yuval Zommer, Thames & Hudson

Non-Fiction 7-11 Years

The Stone Age by Marcia Williams, Walker Books

2017 Award presentation was held on 24 May 2017

Previous Book Award Winners

Share this page: