Winners of the English 4-11 Picture Book Awards Announced

Posted by boo11 at Apr 17, 2019 10:00 AM |
The English Association is proud to announce the winners of its 2019 English 4-11 Picture Book awards.


Established in 1995, the awards are presented by the English Association to the best children's picture books of the year.  Awards are given to fiction and non-fiction in age ranges 4-7 years and 7-11 years. The winning books are chosen by the editorial board of English 4-11, the journal for primary teachers published by the English Association and the United Kingdom Literacy Association, from a shortlist selected by a panel of teachers, primary school children and primary specialists. This year’s winning books demonstrated the synergy between high quality writing and imaginative well-crafted images,

The 2019 winners are:

Non- Fiction 4-7

Rhythmn of the Rain

The Rhythm of the Rain

Grahame Baker-Smith

(Templar Publishing)


Non-Fiction 7-11


Hélène Druvert

Emmanuelle Grundmann

(Thames & Hudson)


Fiction 7-11

Ocean Meets Sky

The Fan Brothers

(The Quarto Group)


Fiction 4-7

I Say Ooh, You say Aah

John Kane

(Templar Publishing)


The shortlisted books for the 2019 awards are:

Non-Fiction 4 – 7

On The Trail of the Whale – Camilla De La Bédoyère, illustrated by Richard Watson (Miles Kelly Publishing)

The Big Book of the Blue – Yuval Zommer (Thames & Hudson)


Non-Fiction 7 – 11

Inside the Villains – Clotilde Perrin (Gecko Press)

Moth – Isabel Thomas, illustrated by Daniel Egnéus (Bloomsbury)

Fiction 4 – 7

Ten Fat Sausages – Michelle Robson, illustrated by Tor Freeman (Anderson Press)

Baby’s First Bank Heist – Jim Whalley, illustrated by Stephen Collins (Bloomsbury)

Spyder – Matt Carr (Scholastic)


Fiction 7 – 11

Dragon Post Emma Yarlett (Walker Books)

Me and My Fear – Francesca Sanna (Flying Eye Books)

Cinderella of the Nile – Beverley Naidoo, illustrated by Marjan Vafaeian (Tiny Owl)


Margaret Mallett Picture Book Award Winner

The prize was established by the English Association in memory of Margaret Mallett, a Fellow of the English Association and a long-serving member of the Editorial Board of English 4-11, who passed on after a short illness in March 2017.

Margaret was a passionate advocate for high quality books for children, in particular non-fiction books, and we’re delighted to announce that the winner of the 2019 Margaret Mallet award is:

Rebel Voices: The Rise of Votes for Women

Louise Kay Stewart, illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight (Hachette Children's Group)

Download press release

When will the Awards be presented?

The Awards will be presented to the winners on Wednesday 22 May 2019 at the British Academy, 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, London, following the Association’s AGM.

About us

English 4-11 is the only journal dedicated to English in the primary classroom.  It is a joint publication of the English Association ( and the United Kingdom Literacy Association ( Published three times per academic year (Autumn, Spring and Summer), English 4-11 contains material produced by, and for, the classroom teacher, including practical resources, outlines of successful projects, case studies, and reviews of books, DVDs, IT and other teaching materials, as well as news, views and reports on current research.  It is intended for everyone involved in English in the primary classroom.

Full details of the Awards, including details of previous winners, can be found on the English Association's website.

For further information please contact

The English Association, University of Leicester LE1 7RH

Tel: 0116 229 7584


Filed under: ,

Share this page:

Contact us

The English Association
University of Leicester
Leicester LE1 7RH

Tel: 0116 229 7622

Follow us on twitter Find us on facebook