Michael Murphy Poetry Prize Shortlist announced

Posted by hl11 at Aug 07, 2017 03:50 PM |

The shortlist for the 2017 Michael Murphy Memorial prize has just been announced. The £1000 prize is awarded for a distinctive first book of poetry in English published in Britain or Ireland. The 2017 prize covers volumes published between January 2015 and December 2016.

The Shortlist

Claire Askew, This Changes Things (Bloodaxe)

Nancy Campbell, Disko Bay (Enitharmon)

John Dennison, Otherwise (Carcanet)

Kate Miller, The Observances (Carcanet)

Rebecca Perry, Beauty/ Beauty (Bloodaxe)

The winner will be announced on National Poetry Day, 28 September 2017 and the prize will be awarded at the English Association's Annual General Meeting on 23 May 2018.

The Judges

Deryn Rees-Jones

Karen Leeder

John Mcauliffe

Share this page:

Contact us

The English Association
University of Leicester
Leicester LE1 7RH

Tel: 0116 229 7622
Email: engassoc@le.ac.uk

Follow us on twitter Find us on facebook