Longlist for 2019 Michael Murphy Memorial Prize Announced

Posted by boo11 at Jul 02, 2019 12:35 PM |
The English Association is pleased to announce the longlist of the 2019 Michael Murphy Memorial Prize.

The Michael Murphy

Raymond Antrobus, The Perseverance, Penned in the Margins.

Polly Atkin, Basic Nest Architecture, Seren.

Kayo Chingonyi, Kumukanda, Penguin

Sophie Collins, Who is Mary Sue? Faber& Faber.

Jane Commane, Assembly Lines, Bloodaxe Books.

Nia Davies, All fours, Bloodaxe Books.

Wayne Holloway-Smith, Alarum, Bloodaxe Books.

Zaffar Kunial, Us, Faber& Faber.

Nick Makoha, Kingdom of Gravity, Peepal Tree.

Phoebe Power, Shrines of Upper Austria, Carcanet.

Hannah Sullivan, Three Poems, Faber& Faber.


About the Prize

The Michael Murphy Memorial Prize is a biennial prize for a distinctive first book of poetry in English published in Britain or Ireland. The prize was established by colleagues at Nottingham Trent University in honour of the Liverpool-born poet Michael Murphy, who was 43 when he died of a brain tumour in May 2009.

Michael Murphy’s first volume of poetry, After Attila, appeared from Shoestring Press in 1998 when he was 33. Shoestring has published two subsequent collections, Elsewhere (2003) and Allotments (2008), and brought out a posthumous Collected Poems in 2011. In 2001 Michael was awarded the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize by Poetry Review as ‘New Poet of the Year’. The intention of the present prize is to extend the same recognition to another new poet.

The 2019 – 2020 Competition

This year marks the fifth biennial prize of £1000 for a distinctive first volume of poetry in English published in Britain or Ireland, between 1 January 2017 and 31 December 2018.

The judges for this year’s award are Professor Deryn Rees-Jones, University of Liverpool; Professor Linda Anderson, Newcastle University; and Dr Jonathan Ellis, University of Sheffield

We will announce the shortlist on 5 August 2019. The winner will be announced on National Poetry Day (4 October 2019), and the award will be presented at the next English Association Annual General Meeting (27 May 2020).

The prize-winning collection will be advertised and reviewed in the English Association Newsletter, the Association's journal English and on the Association's website.

Filed under: ,

Share this page:

Contact us

The English Association
University of Leicester
Leicester LE1 7RH

Tel: 0116 229 7622
Email: engassoc@le.ac.uk

Follow us on twitter Find us on facebook