New Fellows 2017

Honorary Fellows

Dame Hermione Lee was elected as a Founding Fellow of the Association in 2000. She is the President of Wolfson College, Oxford, Director of the Oxford Centre for Life-Writing at Wolfson College, and a biographer, critic and Professor of Literature at the University of Oxford.

Helen Lucas has been the Chief Executive of the English Association since October 1993. She is due to retire from the Association at the end of 2017.

Professor Stan Smith, formerly of Nottingham Trent University, was elected as a Founding Fellow in 2000. He was the first Chair of the Association's Fellowship Committee and a member of the Board of Trustees, from which he retired in May 2017.


Dr Jenny Bavidge is University Senior Lecturer and Academic Director for English at the University of Cambridge's Institute of Continuing Education and is a member of the English Faculty.

Pie Corbett is an educationalist, writer and poet and has written widely for children and teachers.

Hilary Davies is a poet, translator and critic. She was Chair of the Poetry Society (1992-3) and co-founded and edited the poetry magazine Argo for 12 years.

Professor Robert Eaglestone, Royal Holloway University of London, is a member of the Association's Higher Education Committee and was co-organiser of the ground-breaking English: Shared Futures Conference in 2017.

A.S.G. Edwards has made a major contribution in developing the field of Middle English prose studies, both through his own wide-ranging research and through his role as general editor of the Index of Middle English Prose.

Bernardine Evaristo is Professor of Creative Writing at Brunel University, where she founded the Brunel University African Poetry Prize in 2011. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society for Literature, and is celebrated critically for her writing on the African diaspora,

Dr Peter Happé has been a teacher, the Head of a Sixth Form college and is now a Visiting Fellow of the English Department at Southampton.He has been a prolific scholar in medieval and early-modern drama for many decades.

Professor Martin McQuillan is Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation) at Kingston University. He works on contemporary literature, cultural theory and philosophy,

Professor Lyndsey Stonebridge was the winner of the 2016 British Academy Rose Mary Crawshay prize for her book The Judicial Imagination: Writing after Nuremberg, Professor Lyndsey Stonebridge is Professor of Modern Literature & History at the University of East Anglia.

Stephen Stuart-Smith is Director of Enitharmon Press (and Bookshop), founded in 1967, and long a distinguished poetry publisher.

Corresponding Fellows

Professor Sarah Prescott is Principal for the University College Dublin College of Arts and Humanities. Her main teaching and research interests are in eighteenth-century studies.

David Wallace is Judith Rodin Professor of English at the University of Pennsylvania and is First Vice President of the Medieval Academy of America. He has long been an enthusiastic supporter of English Medieval Studies.

Fellows 2017

New Fellows 2017 at the Annual General Meeting

(l to r Adrian Barlow, EA President, Jenny Bavidge, Lyndsey Stonebridge, Robert Eaglestone, Stan Smith [seated], Stephen Stuart-Smith, Hilary Davies, A.S.G. Edwards)

Share this page: