Fellowship - FEA

The English Association has a long tradition of honouring distinguished figures who have made a special contribution to the promotion of the language arts in all their many facets. Past presidents have included John Galsworthy, Harley Granville–Barker, Sir Kenneth Clark and Dame Rebecca West.

Our thoughts on Brexit

cutout figures seated holding hands

Fellows - FEA

Our Current Fellows

group of plastic figures with speech bubbles

Interest Groups

Networks and Interest Groups convened by Fellows

Man talking to a group

Fellows Award

More information about the Fellows Award (new in 2021)

model of a man standing thinking beside the words rules and guidelines


Criteria, eligibility and entitlement

information sign


Subscription information

pile of books on a table in a bookshop

Publications by Fellows

Recent publications

calendar with the 1st day of the month marked start

Fellowship Renewal

Renew your subscription online

In 2000 the Association established the new membership category of Fellow in special recognition of those who have significantly enriched and promoted English in all fields, including the creative, academic and educational.

We have over 350 Fellows, including writers, educationalists, librarians, journalists, critics, and editors. Fellowship is conferred by the Board of Trustees after nominations have been considered by the Fellowship Committee. Nominations for Fellowships may be made by Fellows and any member of the Association's committees or sub-committees.

Fellows, who may use the letters FEA after their names, are invited each year to attend the English Association’s Annual General Meeting and Reception (normally held in central London) at which the year’s activities are celebrated and new Fellows welcomed.


Congratulations to Kazuo Ishiguro who has won the 2017 Nobel prize in literature. The Swedish Academy praised him for his 'novels of great emotional force', which it said had 'uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world'. Kazuo Ishiguro was elected to the Fellowship in 2006. 5 October 2017

We note with great sadness the death of Margaret Mallett on 28th March. An inspirational teacher, writer and champion of non-fiction writing for children, Margaret was also a dearly loved member of the English 4-11 Editorial Board. She will be greatly missed. Margaret was elected to the EA Fellowship in 2005. In memory of Margaret web page

Congratulations to Marina Warner who will become the first female President of the Royal Society of Literature. Marina will be President Elect until the election is ratified at the RSL's AGM of Fellows on 19 June 2017. Marina was elected to the EA Fellowship in 2007.

We note with great sadness the death of Honorary Fellow Victor Hext on 1st March. Victor was a long-time member of the English Association, serving on the Secondary Education committee and the Board of Trustees until his retirement from the Association in 2008.

Congratulations to Geoff Barton who was elected as the new General Secretary of the Association for School and College Leadership on 10 February. He will take up his post on 18 April. http://www.ascl.org.uk/news-and-views/news_news-detail.geoff-barton-wins-election-for-ascl-general-secretary.html

Congratulations to Fiona Sampson on the award of an MBE for her services to literature in the New Year's Honours List. Fiona said she was delighted to receive the honour, at a time when the arts were in danger of being undervalued. "In the current political climate it is vital that those of us who are makers, and who speak truth to power, are recognised and rewarded for our efforts,' she said. Fiona was elected to the Fellowship in 2010.

We note with sadness the death of Emeritus Professor Ronald Jack of the University of Edinburgh on December 14 2016. Professor Jack was elected to the Fellowship in 2001.

Share this page: