Annual General Meeting

British Academy interior showing the grand staircase leading from the foyer at 10 Carlton House Terrace

The 2019 Annual General Meeting will take place at 5.00 on Wednesday 22 May at the British Academy, 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, London.

Doors open 4.30 pm.

The meeting will be followed by a reception in the Mall Room in honour of the new Fellows and award winners.

If you would like to attend please contact the office to book your place -

Annual General Meeting, 23 May 2018

Order of Business

Chair's Address: Professor Martin Halliwell FEA

To receive and adopt the Annual Report of the Trustees together with a statement of the accounts for the year ended 31 December 2017 and the Independent Examiner's Report thereon

To appoint Kingsmead Accounting Limited as the independent examiners of the English Association

To elect the following to the Board of Trustees

Colin Gore

Professor Philip Shaw FEA

Dr Jenny Stevens FEA

To re-elect members on completion of a term of office

Adrian Barlow FEA

Professor Martin Halliwell FEA

Nicky Potter FEA

To appoint the following officers for a term of 3 years

President: Professor Martin Halliwell FEA

Chair: Rob Penman

Treasurer: Colin Gore

To accept the resignation of members

Nicole King FEA

Rob Sanderson

Fellowship news and announcement of the new Fellows of the Association

Chartered Teacher of English news

Announcement of the 2018 Beatrice White Prize

Presentation of the 2017 Michael Murphy Memorial Poetry Prize

Presentation of the Margaret Mallett Award for Children's Non-Fiction

Presentation of the English 4-11 Picture Book Awards


Directions to the British Academy

Share this page: