Student Awards 2017

Student Awards 2017 Header

The University of Leicester Student Awards 2017 celebrates individual students and student groups' fantastic achievements for the year, with this year's awards ceremony which took place Wednesday 7th June 2017.

Student Awards 2017 Winners!

Thank you to everyone who attended the awards ceremony and we hope you all have a great night!

Congratulations to all those who received highly commended and our winners!

Please see the shortlist below:

Individual Awards Winners

President and Vice Chancellor Student of the Year

Oishi Deb
Leicester Award Student of the Year

Mehak Preet Kaur

Highly Commended: Shannondeep Kaur

Leicester Award Gold Student of the Year

Owain Nolan

Highly Commended: Khadija Koroma

Outstanding Commitment to Professional Development

Sheen Chin

Highly Commended: Oishi Deb

Inspirational Achievement Award

Samantha Hutchinson

Highly Commended: Mehak Preet Kaur

Academic Representative of the Year

Kathryn Hollins

Highly Commended: Cintya Cabral de Sousa

Student Ambassador of the Year

Hannah Wake

Highly Commended: Niall Canavan

Sustainability Achiever Award

Beth Langley

Highly Commended: Emma Wiffin

Students' Union Student Employee of the Year

Penny Marshall

Highly Commended: Courtney Mower

Frank May Volunteer of the Year

Salwa Almayouf

Highly Commended: Pooja Bokhiria

Outstanding Contribution to Postgraduate Life

Benjamin Richards

Highly Commended: Shane Payne

Teaching Partnership Awards

Hannah Lerman, Kellie Moss, Oonagh Quigley, Neil Thakrar, Riya Elizabeth George, Razan Rislan and Leicester University Medical Research Society

Pomerance Prize

Nathan Albon, Shimon Atunde, Matheus Bell, Alexander Champion, Hester Claridge, Henrietta Croke, Harvey Kane, Martha O'Sullivan, Benjamin Swithenbank-Harris and Band and Gig Group

New Attenborough Arts Centre Music Prize:

Frankie Fan and Tom Li

Union Council: Campaigner of the Year

Sara Sajjad

Union Council: New officer of the Year

Lorin Adams

Union Council: Part-time Officer of the Year

Amy Moran
Union Council: Outstanding Contribution Nicholas Frost

Student Group Awards Winners


Forensic Science


Amnesty International


First Aid
Committee LUTheatre

Common Interest


Cricket/Cancer Research (Charity Darts Tournament)


Islamic Society


Galaxy Radio

Green Impact

Hungry For Change

Galaxy Press



National and Cultural

Nordic Society


Modern Dance Society


Cheer and Stunt

Most Improved

Galaxy Press
Support Group

Pro Bono

New Group


Student Group LUTheatre

Awards and Criteria

To find out more about each award and the criteria click on the relevant photos below:

Filed under: , ,

Share this page:


login To MyCareers

Contact Us Header

Book an appointment with us

Phone: 0116 252 2004

Email: careershelp

Facebook Twitter


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for the Charles Wilson Building.