Figures from public life to be honoured by University

Posted by ap507 at Jul 10, 2014 03:57 PM |
Fourteen honorary degrees to be conferred between 15 - 18 July 2014

Fourteen esteemed figures of local, national and international standing will be honoured by the University at its degree ceremonies held from 15 – 18 July at De Montfort Hall, Leicester.

The recipients of honorary degrees from the University are drawn from the worlds of business, academia, science, law and the media.

In a rare occurrence for a graduation ceremony, an honorary degree will be awarded posthumously to archaeologist and television personality Professor Mick Aston, who sadly passed away in 2013. Most widely remembered for his role in Channel 4’s Time Team, Mick’s lifelong interest in landscape archaeology regularly saw him working with the School of Archaeology and Ancient History.

The honorands will be conferred their degrees by Professor Sir Robert Burgess, for whom these are the final graduation ceremonies he will oversee as he retires from the role of Vice-Chancellor at the end of September. 

Those to be honoured are:

Tuesday 15 July, 3pm

Professor Rosemary Deem (Doctor of Letters)

Vice-Principal (Education) at Royal Holloway University of London, University of Leicester alumna, and champion of research into Higher Education

Tuesday 15 July, 3pm

Ms Vijay Sharma (Doctor of Letters)

Led the development of the BBC Asian Network, active in fundraising locally, and member of the University of Leicester's Development Board

Wednesday 16 July, 11am

Professor Michael Anderson (Doctor of Letters)

Social scientist and has held a number of roles in university senior management and on national committees for Higher Education

Wednesday 16 July, 11am

Professor Mick Aston (received by Teresa Hall and James Aston) (Doctor of Letters)

Landscape archaeologist and regular contributor to Channel 4’s Time Team.

Wednesday 16 July, 3pm

Professor David Phillips (Doctor of Science)

Professor Emeritus at Imperial College London and former President of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Wednesday 16 July, 3pm

Mr Paul Bateman (Doctor of Laws)

Chairman of J.P. Morgan Asset Management, alumnus and formerly Pro-Chancellor of the University of Leicester.

Thursday 17 July, 11am

Professor Jennifer Clack (Doctor of Science)

Professor and Curator of Vertebrate Palaeontology at the University Museum of Zoology, Cambridge, and Leicester alumna

Thursday 17 July, 11am

Professor Richard Fortey (Doctor of Science)

Palaeontologist and broadcaster who spent much of his career working at the Natural History Museum in London

Thursday 17 July, 3pm

Professor Dame Sally Davies (Doctor of Science)

Chief Medical Officer for England and Chief Scientific Adviser for the Department of Health

Thursday 17 July, 3pm

Professor Nilesh Samani (Doctor of Science)

British Heart Foundation Professor of Cardiology and Head of the Department of Cardiovascular Sciences at the University of Leicester

Friday 18 July, 11am

Judge Howard Morrison (Doctor of Laws)

UK Judge of International Criminal Court and Honorary Professor at the University of Leicester

Friday 18 July, 11am

Mr Aaron Porter (Doctor of Laws)

Former President of the National Union of Students, Associate Director (Governance) for the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education and Leicester alumnus

Friday 18 July, 3pm

Mr Rob Ward (Doctor of Laws)

Director of the Centre for Recording Achievement (CRA) and involved in the implementation of the Higher Education Achievement Report (HEAR) in the UK

Friday 18 July, 3pm

Ms Jan Wilkinson (Doctor of Letters)

Director of the John Rylands Library, University of Manchester, and active in a wide range of national and international library developments