Two new National Teaching Fellows for the University of Leicester

Posted by pt91 at Jun 27, 2013 09:05 AM |
For the second year in a row, Leicester has received a double award for teaching excellence

Today (27 June), the University of Leicester congratulates two of its outstanding members of staff who have received prestigious awards in a national scheme for excellence in teaching and support for learning.

National Teaching Fellowships have been awarded to Professor Hilary Burgess from the School of Education and Alex Moseley from the Course Design and Development Unit by the Higher Education Academy for the outstanding contributions to the student learning experience that each has made in their respective fields.

You can learn more about their work in a Q & A interview online.

Professor Hilary Burgess's award means that the University's School of Education is now home to three National Teaching Fellows: Rose Griffiths and Dr Sue Dymoke received the award in 2009 and 2011 respectively.

This brings the total number of Leicester recipients of the awards to 11 and it is the second year running that two Leicester members of staff have been recognised.

They are among fifty-five National Teaching Fellows announced today (27 June), all of whom have made a significant impact on the teaching at their own institution, and many of them even further afield. Successful nominees were nominated by their institutions and submissions had to show evidence of three criteria: individual excellence, raising the profile of excellence and developing excellence.

Share this page: