University scientist honoured by science community in Trinidad and Tobago

Posted by uatemp13 at Sep 28, 2012 12:42 PM |
Emeritus Professor receives the silver medal from NIHERST

Emeritus Professor Aftab Khan, an honorary academic in the Department of Geology, has been awarded a silver medal from the National Institute of Higher Education Research Science and Technology for his accomplishments in the field of science and technology in one of seven categories.

Professor Khan was appointed in 1963 to start geophysics in the then new department of geology at the University, and has had a long association since then. He became involved in geophysical investigations to depths ranging in scale from a few meters in mineral exploration to tens of kilometers in studies of the earth’s crust and mantle. He has been Head of the Department of Geology and Dean of what was the Science Faculty in 1974-1976 - and was even Public Orator from 1985-91.

NIHERST is mandated to promote the development of science and technology in Trinidad and Tobago. An important aspect of their work is to recognise and reward individuals for their outstanding achievements in science and technology. Linked to this is documenting the work of scientists, such as Professor Khan, so they can stand out as known role models for new students.

For a number of years, Professor Khan was involved in the development of a highly successful Geoscience Programme in the University of the West Indies in his home country, Trinidad, to meet the local oil industry’s geophysical manpower shortage. 

The awards ceremony will be held on Saturday 29 September in the Grand Ballroom of the Trinidad Hilton & Conference Centre from 6pm to 9pm. Dr. the Honourable Rupert T. Griffith, Minister of Science and Technology, will be the keynote speaker. Partnering with NIHERST for the ceremony are the ministry of Science and Technology of Trinidad and Tobago, and the Caribbean Academy of Science (CAS).

Share this page: