Academics honoured with prestigious awards

Posted by mjs76 at Jul 26, 2012 12:05 AM |
Recognition for teaching excellence of physiologist and e-learning expert.

Two of our academics have been honoured with prestigious awards by the Higher Education Academy, the independent body which “supports the higher education community in order to enhance the quality and impact of learning and teaching.”

Each year the HEA recognises excellence in teaching and support for learning by awarding up to 55 National Teaching Fellowships. The 2012 National Teaching Fellows include Professor Jon Scott from our Department of Cell Physiology and Pharmacology and Professor Gráinne Conole from our Beyond Distance Research Alliance.

This is the first time that Leicester has received two National Teaching Fellowships in the same year. Each Fellowship comes with an award of £10,000 towards the recipient’s professional development. The scheme is funded by the UK’s four Higher Education Funding Councils.

Gráinne Conole is Professor of Learning Innovation in the BDRA where she researches the use, integration and evaluation of ICT and e-learning and its impact on organisational change. She blogs about learning innovations at, and her new book Designing for Learning in an Open World is scheduled for publication by Springer in September.

Jon Scott is Professor of Bioscience Education and Academic Director of our College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology. His research into teaching and learning focuses on the development of web-based teaching, alongside educating students about plagiarism and using plagiarism detection software. In 2011 he was named Bioscience Teacher of the Year.

The new National Teaching Fellows will officially receive their awards at a ceremony in London on 10 October.

Previous National Teaching Fellowships awarded to the University of Leicester

  • Derek Raine, Department of Physics and Astronomy, 2004
  • Chris Willmott, Department of Biochemistry, 2005
  • Gillian Salmon*, BDRA, 2006
  • Liz Anderson, Department of Medical and Social Care Education, 2007
  • Annette Cashmore, Department of Genetics, 2008
  • Rose Griffiths, School of Education, 2009
  • Sue Dymoke, School of Education, 2011

*Now at Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne