Leicester swimmers help smash world record

Posted by mjs76 at Mar 02, 2012 01:00 PM |
Student swimming gala incorporates collaborative mega-relay.

Last week our Swim Team traveled up to the Manchester Aquatics Centre for a new charity competition called Quest for the Crest, facing off against teams from Manchester, Salford, London, Sheffield, York and Amsterdam. Organised by the folks at Manchester University, the competition raised money for WaterAid, which cares for people who are affected by lack of sanitation and clean water in countries across the world.

In the end Leicester came a very creditable ninth - but there was more to the event than the competition, as Sam Rowbotham explains:

"Alongside the gala, all the teams joined together to try and break the world record for a 100 x 100m Medley Relay. The strokes for people swimming in the relay were chosen using raffle tickets and each swimmer could only do 1 x 100m leg of the relay. The target time to beat the world record was two hours and 39 minutes. 

"Each of our swimmers chose the strokes they were going to swim along with the position they were going to be within the relay, which were:

  • Sam Rowbotham – Butterfly
  • Thomas Ward – Butterfly
  • Luke Wooldridge – Butterfly
  • Jess Daly – Butterfly
  • Allys Stafford – Backstroke
  • Alice Cowley – Backstroke
  • Nick Short – Backstroke
  • Matt Dales – Breaststroke
  • JV Vallee – Breaststroke
  • Natalie Pearson – Breastroke
  • Hannah Warren – Freestyle

"After half of the gala had been swum, we were updated on the progress of the world record, being told that after 50 swimmers we had been swimming for just over one hour, so we were looking to break the world record by a substantial amount!

"As the events for the charity gala came to a close, we took a short break to cheer for the last few swimmers of the 100 x 100m Medley Relay. The final results meant that not only did the University of Leicester team come ninth in a very competitive field but the combination of all our universities broke the world record by 33 minutes in a time of two hours and five minutes. The winners, University of Manchester, have already challenged us to return next year to try and get below two hours for the world record."

L-R: Matt Dales, JV Vallee, Alice Cowley, Allys Stafford, Jessica Daly, Sam Rowbotham, Hannah Warren, Thomas Ward, Natalie Pearson, Luke Wooldridge and Nick Short

Share this page: