Who’s Who honour for academic trio

Posted by mjs76 at Dec 06, 2011 10:40 AM |
Three Leicester professors join the definitive directory of notable people.
Who’s Who honour for academic trio

Professor Gordon Campbell

What connects Professor Gordon Campbell, Professor of Renaissance Studies in our School of English; Professor Nilesh Samani, British Heart Foundation Professor of Cardiology and Head of our Department of Cardiovascular Sciences; Professor Anne Willis, Head of the University of Leicester-hosted MRC Toxicology Unit; and 2009 Formula One World Champion Jenson Button?

The answer is that they are among about a thousand notable individuals added to the 2012 edition of Who’s Who.

Professor Anne Willis

The distinctive red volume of the great and good has been published annually since 1849 and currently contains self-penned biographies of 34,000 notable figures in the UK. Each year new names are added to recognise achievement and distinction in many fields (and to replace those who have passed on to the companion volume Who Was Who).

Some positions – judges, MPs etc – qualify their holders for automatic entry. But for most fields of endeavour, including academe, business, sport and the arts, selection boards sit to consider nominations.

Professor Nilesh Samani

Gordon, Nilesh and Anne join an extensive list of currently serving University of Leicester staff listed in Who’s Who including Professor David Mattingley and Professor Colin Haselgrove in our School of Archaeology and Ancient History, Professor Helen Atkinson and Dr Fernando Schlindwein in the Department of Engineering, Professor Janet Ainley in the School of Education, Professor David Field in the Department oif Health Sciences and Professor Martin Barstow, Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of the College of Science and Engineering, and of course our Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sir Robert Burgess.