Varsity Rugby: brace yourselves, it won't be gentle

Posted by mjs76 at Mar 18, 2010 05:05 PM |
Leicester and De Montfort square off against each other in the annual Varsity Rugby Match at the Tigers ground on 24 March.

In 2008, the University of Leicester won the Varsity Rugby. Last year, De Montfort University triumphed. On 24 March, our beefy fellas will attempt to win back the trophy.

In contrast, our rugby gals have beaten DMU six times in the past six years and will be looking to extend their winning streak.

All the muddy excitement takes place at the Leicester Tigers Stadium on Welford Road (with its fabulous new stand that was constructed last summer). Gates open at 5.15pm, the ladies scrum down at 6.00pm and the blokes take to the field at 7.45pm.

Tickets are four quid in advance from the Students' Union building (Sports Association Office or Reception) or six quid on the night.

Win or lose, there is the outside possibility that our players may finish off the evening with a drink or two...