Library times and IT disruption over Easter

Posted by mjs76 at Mar 25, 2010 10:55 AM |
Although the University Library will only be closed for two days over the Easter break, there will be changes to opening hours on some days and some services unavailable at other times.

University of Leicester staff get a couple of extra days' holiday at Easter - in addition to the Friday and Monday Bank Holidays - to enjoy their chocolate eggs. This means that staffed services in the library will not be available from Thursday to Tuesday so any students or staff wishing to use the library will need to have their library card with them to gain access.

Before this, there will be a period of three days when IT work means that the library cataloge will be unavailable, along with facilities like book renewal and fine payment (but don't worry - you won't be fined extra for those three days). And on Tuesday 6 April there will be significant, unavoidable IT disruption across the University which will affect library facilities such as PCs and photocopying.

None of this affects the Clinical Sciences Library - which remains open 24 hours a day, seven days a week - except possibly the 6 April IT disruption which will affect many University computer services between 8.15am and 4.00pm.

Date Library opens Staff services Library closes IT disruption?
Monday 29 March 8.00am 9.00am-9.00pm 2.00am catalogue unavailable
Tuesday 30 March 8.00am 9.00am-9.00pm 2.00am catalogue unavailable
Wednesday 31 March 8.00am 9.00am-9.00pm 2.00am catalogue unavailable
Thursday 1 April 9.00am not available 9.00pm no problems expected
Good Friday 2 April

Library

closed

all

day

Saturday 3 April 9.00am not available 9.00pm no problems expected
Easter Sunday 4 April 9.00am not available 9.00pm no problems expected
Easter Monday 5 April

Library

closed

all

day

Tuesday 6 April 9.00am  not available 9.00pm PCs, photocopying, possibly more
Wednesday 7 April 8.00am 9.00am-9.00pm 2.00am no problems expected
Thursday 8 April 8.00am 9.00am-9.00pm 2.00am no problems expected
Friday 9 April 8.00am 9.00am-9.00pm 2.00am  no problems expected