15 July 2016, afternoon ceremony

  • DSC05546 400.jpg
  • DSC05655 400.jpg
  • DSC05360 400.jpg
  • DSC05361 400.jpg
  • DSC05365 400.jpg
  • DSC05383400.jpg
  • DSC05431 400.jpg
  • DSC05516 400.jpg

The ceremony held on the afternoon of Friday 15 July 2016 conferred degrees on students in the College of Science and Engineering and the College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology.

48 different qualifications were conferred on 458 graduates.

Departments represented

For a full list of graduates, see pages 54-56 of the Degree Congregations Brochure.

For a list of special prizes and their recipients, see pages 58-62 of the Degree Congregations Brochure.

A brief look at a memorable day

Watch the full ceremony

Honorary Graduate

Professor Sir Godfrey Palmer

An Honorary Doctorate of Science was conferred on Sir Godfrey (Geoff) Palmer, Professor Emeritus in the School of Life Sciences at Heriot-Watt University.

"This Honorary Degree (Doctor of Science) from the University of Leicester is of special importance to my wife, my family, my community and me. I met my wife at the University in 1961. Two of my children and grandchildren will attend the ceremony. Without the University and the City of Leicester, this great honour would not have been possible.”


Share this page: