Winners and nominees

The shortlist for the 2017 Discovering Excellence Awards was announced on 6 October 2017. The awards were presented on 16 November 2017. Congratulations to the winners.

Thank you to everyone who made nominations for the Discovering Excellence Awards, which recognise the amazing contributions of our colleagues, and reflect our VITAL values and our priorities. 

1. Valuing People

  • Nicola Butler, Genetics and Genome Biology
  • Dr Rebecca Barnes, Criminology
  • Claire Ellis-Ross, Development and Alumni Relations Office

2. Creative Innovator

  • Charlotte Sanders, College Court Conference Centre and Hotel
  • Michael Macbean, Student Support Services
  • Reshma Vanza-Adam, Estates and Campus Services

3. Working Together - Team of the Year

  • Criminology MSc Team
  • Finance Team, Leicester Services Partnership
  • Sport Experience Team within Sport and Active Life

4. Exceptional Team Member

  • Dr Diane Levine, Research and Enterprise Division
  • Richard Poyner, Physics and Astronomy
  • Jon Urry, IT Services

5. Inspiring Leader

  • Professor Helen Wood, Media, Communication and Sociology
  • Sharon Bassett, Estates and Campus Services
  • Professor Graham Wynn, Physics and Astronomy

6. Student Experience

  • Dr Sandeep Handa, Chemistry
  • Dr Sam King, Criminology
  • Marie Muir, Student and Academic Services

7. Teaching Excellence

  • Dr Sarah Gretton, Physics and Astronomy
  • Dr Primrose Freestone, Infection, Immunity and Inflammation
  • Dr Dylan Williams, Chemistry

8. Research Excellence

  • Professor Gavin Murphy, Cardiovascular Sciences
  • Professor Elizabeth Draper, Health Sciences
  • Professor Emma Raven, Chemistry

9. Excellence in Internationalisation

  • Ian Jarvis, College of Science and Engineering
  • Dr Lisa Smith, Criminology
  • Kate Walewska, International Office

10. Equalities Champion

  • Dr Rhaana Starling, Physics and Astronomy
  • Dr Clare Gunby, Criminology
  • Dr Alison Stuart, Chemistry

11. Enterprise Award

  • Professor Andy Abbott, Chemistry
  • Dr Will Green, School of Business
  • The ULAS Team

12. Digital Excellence

  • The MyUoL team
  • Course Design Team - Socially Engaged Practice in Museums and Galleries
  • Dr Mark Hamilton, Leicester Medical School

13. President's Award

  • Presented to Nerys Bradley

President's Award for Outstanding Achievement

Special award presented to Dr Suzie Imber

Share this page:


Awards Ceremony 2017

The 2017 Discovering Excellence Awards Ceremony will be held at Stamford Court on Thursday 16 November, 6.00pm-10.00pm.

Tickets for the event were allocated in a ballot which is now closed.