Research in Neuroscience, Psychology & Behaviour at the University of Leicester

The Department of Neuroscience Psychology & Behaviour was created by merging the departments many of the staff involved in the UoA4 unit of assessment under REF2014. This included staff members from the School of Psychology, Cell Physiology & Pharmacology and Biology. Staff members contribute to undergraduate teaching across the College and in Research we continue a multi-disciplinary approach with fundamental investigations and applied studies.

As part of the College of Life Sciences our research benefits from integrated basic science with clinical interests in brain function, psychology, psychiatry and disease. We have many partners in government, industry and the public sector, including education, services allied to health and partners associated with the legal system.

Our research is distributed into four linked Divisions, each of which is led by two Lead Researchers and the whole overseen by a Research Team Committee composed of these Leads and key representatives from other Departments across the University.

Cellular & Molecular Neurobiology

Cognitive & Behavioural Sciences

Perception & Sensory Processing

Health & Psychological Wellbeing


Research Team Lead Professor Ian Forsythe 5580
Research Coordinator Michelle Bingham 7160
Cellular & Molecular Neurobiology Division Leads Professor Nick Hartell
Professor Ruth Luthi-Carter
Cognitive & Behavioural Sciences Division Leads Dr Tom Matheson
Dr Briony Pulford
Perception & Sensory Processing Division Leads Professor Irene Gottlobb
Professor Kevin Paterson
Health & Psychological Wellbeing Division Leads Dr Emma Palmer
Dr John Maltby
Centre for Systems Neuroscience

Prof Rodrigo Quian Quiroga

Share this page:

Filed under: ,
Contact the Department

Department of Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour
University of Leicester
University Road

T: +44 (0)116 252 2922


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has detailed accessibility guides for the George Davies Centre, the Adrian Building and the Maurice Shock Medical Sciences Building.