Sluckin Lectures

The Sluckin Lecture is an annual event at the University of Leicester to commemorate Professor Wladyslaw Sluckin (1919–1985), who was one of the founding members in 1960 of what was then the Department of Psychology and who served as Head of Department from 1973 to 1984. The first Sluckin Lecture was delivered in 1991 by Professor Patrick Bateson, FRS, of King’s College, Cambridge, and subsequent lecturers have included Colwyn Trevarthen, Kacper Miklaszewski, Margaret Boden, Patrick Rabbitt, Robert Hinde, Jan Deregowski, Richard Gregory, Jeffrey Gray, John Sloboda, Adrian Furnham, Nick Chater, Colin Blakemore, Rufus Johnstone, Aubrey Manning, Anthony Dickinson, Trevor Robbins, Michael Rutter, Nicholas J. Mackintosh, Andrew Mayes, Dorothy Bishop, David Shanks, Wandi Bruine de Bruin and Simon Baron-Cohen.
The Sluckin Lecture is a public event.


The 2017 lecture is Professor Michael Eysenck - "Cognitive Neuroscience: the emperor's new clothes?" 

This will be held on 3rd May 2017 in Lecture Theatre 1 in the Centre for Medicine.


Previous Lectures:

2016 Simon Baron-Cohen "The Prenatal Sex Steroid Theory of Autism"

2015 Wandi Bruine de Bruin "A pathway to impact: Figure skating judging, sex education, and beyond"

2014 David Shanks "The Replication Crisis in Psychology"


Share this page:


Department of Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour
University of Leicester
University Road

T: +44 (0)116 252 2922


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has detailed accessibility guides for the Centre for Medicine, the Adrian Building and the Maurice Shock Medical Sciences Building.