Staff list

Academic Staff

Dr Sandra Dudley Director and Head of School 3970
Professor Simon Knell Professor of Museum Studies; on research leave January-June 2018 3969
Professor Suzanne MacLeod Professor of Museum Studies; Director of Flexible Learning 3759
Professor Richard Sandell Professor of Museum Studies; Programme Director, Socially Engaged Practice in Museums and Galleries 3965
Janet Berry Associate Lecturer
Dr Stacy Boldrick Programme Director, Art Museum and Gallery Studies 5409
Dr Stephanie Bowry Leverhulme Research Fellow 3729
Katy Bunning Lecturer in Museum Studies; Academic Director 5723
Dr Varina Delrieu Research Associate, Understanding Everyday Participation project
Jocelyn Dodd Director, RCMG 3995
Dr Lisanne Gibson College Director of Research; Associate Professor 5719
Dr Ceri Jones Research Associate, RCMG 3757
Dr Janet Marstine Associate Professor; on research leave January-June 2018 3971
Dr Nuala Morse Lecturer in Museum Studies 3975
Dr Marco Mason Marie Curie Fellow
Dr Ross Parry University Deputy-Pro-Vice Chancellor (Digital); Associate Professor 3964
Dr David Unwin Programme Director, Campus-based Museum Studies; Associate Professor 3947
Dr Giasemi Vavoula Deputy Head of School; Director of Postgraduate Research; Associate Professor 3966
Dr Jen Walklate Teaching Fellow 3961
Dr Sheila Watson Associate Professor 3967
Dr Isobel Whitelegg Research Director 3962

Emeritus Academic Staff

Professor Emerita Susan Pearce
Professor Emerita Eilean Hooper Greenhill
Associate Professor Emerita Dr Viv Golding

Professional Services Team

Name Position Telephone Email
Gurpreet (Bob) Ahluwalia Programme administrator/RCMG administrative support/IT support 3972
Sarah Allard Museum Liaison and Student Support Officer 5871
Christine Cheesman Programme administrator 3963
Robin Clarke Distance Learning Academic Manager 3973
Gus Dinn Operations Manager 3778

Arts and Humanities DL Hub

Based at 5th Floor, Charles Wilson Building, University of Leicester, University Road, Leicester, LE1 7RH

Name Position Telephone Email
Lara Callaghan Distance Learning Team Leader 44 (0) 116 252 2903
Nichole Bruce Distance Learning Student Support Officer 44 (0) 116 252 2903
Leanne Boyle Distance Learning Student Support Officer 44 (0) 116 252 2903
Nathan Dunham Distance Learning Student Support Officer 44 (0) 116 252 2903
Layla Farrar Distance Learning Student Support Officer 44 (0) 116 252 2903
Kate Parker Distance Learning Student Support Officer 44 (0) 116 252 2903

Associate Tutors

Dr Jeanette Atkinson Associate Tutor
Sean Baggaley Associate Tutor
William Brown Associate Tutor
Mary Jane Calderon-Hayhow Associate Tutor
Dr Bruce Campbell Associate Tutor
Dr Mark Curteis Associate Tutor
Alison Duce Associate Tutor
Dr Richard Dunn Associate Tutor
Mike Ellis Associate Tutor
Catherine Hall Associate Tutor
Dieter Hopkin Associate Tutor
Dr Heather Hollins Associate Tutor
Dr Paul Martin Associate Tutor
Corinne Miller Associate Tutor
Kate Pontin Associate Tutor
Frazer Swift Associate Tutor
Dr Vivian Ting Associate Tutor
Sara Wear Associate Tutor
Dr Nigel Wright Associate Tutor

Honorary Lecturers and Visiting Fellows

Name Position TelephoneEmail
Dr Lyall I. Anderson Honorary Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Amy Jane Barnes Honorary Visiting Fellow
David Barrie CBE Honorary Research Fellow; origins and nature of the human aesthetic response
Dr Stephanie Bowry Honorary Research Fellow

Dr Ann Brysbaert Honorary Lecturer; Museum Studies and School of Archaeology and Ancient History

Michael P.B. Chaplin

Honorary Lecturer

Gordon Fyfe

Honorary Fellow
Dr Mette Houlberg Rung Honorary Research Fellow
Robert Janes Honorary Visiting Research Fellow
Da Kong Honorary Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Matt Smith Honorary Visiting Fellow
Mark O'Neill Head of Arts & Museums, Glasgow City Council
Jim Roberts Honorary Fellow of Museum Studies; Production Editor, Museum & Society
Dr Andy Sawyer Honorary Research Fellow
Jim Stewart Honorary Lecturer
Dominic Sore Honorary Lecturer
Dr Mike Taylor Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Marzia Varutti Honorary Visiting Fellow

Share this page:

Contact Us

Museum Studies
University of Leicester
Museum Studies Building
19 University Road
Leicester LE1 7RF

Tel: +44 (0)116 252 3963


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for the Museum Studies Building.


Find us on Facebook