Athena SWAN

Sally Prigent and Sue Shackleton receiving the AthenaSWAN Bronze Award from Professor Dame Julia Higgins


The new Department of Molecular and Cell Biology is strongly committed to the Athena SWAN Charter; the advancement of women's careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) in higher education.


This is part of the wider commitment to ensure equality and diversity within the Department and to support all staff in maintaining a healthy balance between work and family life.

We fully support the beliefs underpinning the Charter:
  • The advancement of science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine is fundamental to quality of life across the globe.
  • It is vitally important that women are adequately represented in what has traditionally been, and is still, a male-dominated area.


  • Science cannot reach its full potential unless it can benefit from the talents of the whole population, and until women and men can benefit equally from the opportunities it affords.


Ruth Luthi-Carter and Karen Monger receiving the AthenaSWAN Bronze Award from Professor Dame Julia Higgins


The Department was created in August 2015 as a result of restructuring within the College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology and includes all staff from the former Department of Biochemistry and approximately half the staff from the former Department of Cell Physiology and Pharmacology. Both former departments received their Athena SWAN Bronze Awards following their submissions in April 2014 in recognition of the good practices that were already in place or have been introduced to support women.


The Awards were presented by Professor Dame Julia Higgins, Patron of Athena SWAN and Emeritus Professor at Imperial College London, at the Award Ceremony in Cambridge on 14th November 2014. Awards were received by Sally Prigent and Sue Shackleton on behalf of the Department of Biochemistry, and Karen Monger and Ruth Luthi-Carter on behalf of the Department of Cell Physiology and Pharmacology.




Molecular and Cell Biology Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team

The Department formed a new Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT) in August 2015 with representation from SAT members of both former departments.  It is anticipated that the combined experience of the team involved in two separate successful Bronze submissions will enable the transition to the Silver award to be achieved by 2017.


Dr Sally Prigent


Lecturer, Chair of Self-Assessment Team, Admissions Tutor for Medical Biochemistry, Departmental Equalities Officer


Dr Sue Shackleton


Senior Lecturer and Post-Graduate Tutor


Prof Ian Eperon


Professor and Post-Graduate Tutor


Prof John Challiss


Head of Department


Dr Noel Davies


Senior Lecturer


Prof Richard Evans




Grace Adams


PhD student


Ghalia Shelmani


PhD student


Karen Monger


Department Manager and Departmental Equalities Officer


Dr Catherine Vial




Dr Peter Watson


LISCB Manager


Dr Emma Kelsall


Post-Doctoral Research Associate


Dr Jon Tillotson-Roberts


Technical Services Manager


Dr Lorenza Francescut Departmental Technician



The Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team will meet regularly until the Silver application is submitted.




The agenda will be published on this site ahead of the next meeting; please feel free to send your comments or to raise any issues with Sally Prigent


New 2017 Athena Swan Silver application 


MCB Silver application

Old departmental Athena Swan applications

Bronze Submissions from the former Departments of Biochemistry and Cell Physiology and Pharmacology are available to view:


Biochemistry Bronze Submission 2015


Molecular and Cell Biology Action Plan 2015


Cell Physiology and Pharmacology Bronze Submission 2015



Nature: Women in Science



Share this page:

Contact Details

Department of Molecular and Cell Biology

T: +44(0)116 229 7038

Map with link to google maps geotag of Henry Wellcome

Henry Wellcome Building - University of Leicester, Lancaster Rd, LE1 7HB

Postal: Henry Wellcome Building, University of Leicester, Leicester, LE1 7RH


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for the Henry Wellcome Building.

Redfearn Lecture 2017

To Be Confirmed