Athena SWAN

Sally Prigent and Sue Shackleton receiving the AthenaSWAN Bronze Award from Professor Dame Julia Higgins

The new Department of Molecular and Cell Biology is strongly committed to the Athena SWAN Charter; the advancement of women's careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) in higher education.

This is part of the wider commitment to ensure equality and diversity within the Department and to support all staff in maintaining a healthy balance between work and family life.

We fully support the beliefs underpinning the Charter:
  • The advancement of science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine is fundamental to quality of life across the globe.
  • It is vitally important that women are adequately represented in what has traditionally been, and is still, a male-dominated area.

  • Science cannot reach its full potential unless it can benefit from the talents of the whole population, and until women and men can benefit equally from the opportunities it affords.

Ruth Luthi-Carter and Karen Monger receiving the AthenaSWAN Bronze Award from Professor Dame Julia Higgins

The Department was created in August 2015 as a result of restructuring within the College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology and includes all staff from the former Department of Biochemistry and approximately half the staff from the former Department of Cell Physiology and Pharmacology. Both former departments received their Athena SWAN Bronze Awards following their submissions in April 2014 in recognition of the good practices that were already in place or have been introduced to support women.

The Awards were presented by Professor Dame Julia Higgins, Patron of Athena SWAN and Emeritus Professor at Imperial College London, at the Award Ceremony in Cambridge on 14th November 2014. Awards were received by Sally Prigent and Sue Shackleton on behalf of the Department of Biochemistry, and Karen Monger and Ruth Luthi-Carter on behalf of the Department of Cell Physiology and Pharmacology.


Molecular and Cell Biology Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team

The Department formed a new Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT) in August 2015 with representation from SAT members of both former departments.  It is anticipated that the combined experience of the team involved in two separate successful Bronze submissions will enable the transition to the Silver award to be achieved by 2017.


Dr Sally Prigent

Lecturer, Chair of Self-Assessment Team, Admissions Tutor for Medical Biochemistry, Departmental Equalities Officer

Dr Sue Shackleton

Senior Lecturer and Post-Graduate Tutor

Prof Ian Eperon

Professor and Post-Graduate Tutor

Prof John Schwabe

Head of Department, Director of Leicester Institute of Structural and Chemical Biology

Dr Noel Davies

Senior Lecturer

Prof Richard Evans


Grace Adams

PhD student

Ghalia Shelmani

PhD student

Karen Monger

Department Manager and Departmental Equalities Officer

Dr Catherine Vial


Dr Peter Watson

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow

Dr Emma Kelsall

Post-Doctoral Research Associate

Dr Jon Tillotson-Roberts

Technical Services Manager

Dr Lorenza Francescut Departmental Technician


The Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team will meet regularly until the Silver application is submitted.


The agenda will be published on this site ahead of the next meeting; please feel free to send your comments or to raise any issues with Sally Prigent

New 2017 Athena Swan Silver application 

MCB Silver application

Old departmental Athena Swan applications

Bronze Submissions from the former Departments of Biochemistry and Cell Physiology and Pharmacology are available to view:

Biochemistry Bronze Submission 2015

Molecular and Cell Biology Action Plan 2015

Cell Physiology and Pharmacology Bronze Submission 2015

Nature: Women in Science

Share this page:

Contact Details

Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
Henry Wellcome Building
Lancaster Road
LE1 7RH (Postal)

LE1 7HB (Sat Nav/Online maps)

T:  +44(0)116 229 7038


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for the Henry Wellcome Building.

Redfearn Lecture 2017

To Be Confirmed