Staff Contact Details

Professional Services Staff

Distance Learning

Bankfield House
132 New Walk

see North Campus:
Maps and Directions

Academic Staff

Professor Jason Hughes Head of School
252 2734

Dr Daniel Allington Lecturer 223 1116

Dr Jessica Bain Associate Professor of Media and Communication 252 3867
Professor Mark Banks Professor 229 7222
Dr Vincent Campbell Senior Lecturer 252 5294
Dr. Yujie Chen Lecturer 223 1620
Tor Clark

Associate Professor in Journalism

223 1406
Dr Anna Claydon College of Social Science, Arts and Humanities Director of PGT Programmes
Associate Professor in Media and Communication
252 2089
Dr Scott Davidson Lecturer and MA Media and Public Relations Programme Director 223 1284

Dr Roger Dickinson Associate Professor and Academic Director, College of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities
252 3860
Dr Bernhard Forchtner

Lecturer and Programme Director, MA Global Media and Communication

252 2829

Dr Lieve Gies Senior Lecturer
252 3869
Dr Qian (Sarah) Gong Lecturer 252 5293
Mr Anders Hansen Senior Lecturer and Deputy Director of Research 252 3866
Dr Matthew Hart Lecturer and Programme Director of the MA Contemporary Sociology 229 7877
Dr Alison Harvey Lecturer and Programme Director of the MA Media, Gender, and Social Justice 294 4851
Dr Athina Karatzogianni Associate Professor 229 7290
Lecturer 229 7455
Dr Melanie Kennedy Lecturer 223 1624
Professor Peter Lunt Professor of Media and Communication
252 2348
Dr Julian Matthews Lecturer and MA Journalism Studies Programme Director 252 2582
Dr Kaitlynn Mendes Senior Lecturer 229 7229
Dr Christian Morgner Lecturer and Programme Director for BA and MA International Communication and Culture 252 2440
Dr Katie Moylan Lecturer 252 5061
Lecturer and MA Media and Advertising Programme Director 252 2768
Dr Maria Rovisco Lecturer 223 1619
Dr Kostas Saltzis Lecturer 252 2818
Dr Tracy Simmons Lecturer 
223 1881
Dr Ian Somerville Reader 252 3865
Dr Maria Touri Lecturer and Undergraduate Programme Director 252 2859
Dr Panayiota Tsatsou Associate Professor 252 2889
Dr Jo Whitehouse-Hart Lecturer 223 1654
Dr Natasha Whiteman Associate Professor of Media and Communication 252 2797
Professor Helen Wood Professor 223 1816
Dr Yimei Zhu Lecturer 252 5486

Teaching Fellows

Verity Milligan Teaching Fellow 229 7235
Mr Jim McKenna
Teaching Fellow 252 3871
Dr Matthew Winston Teaching Fellow 223 1630
Mr George Fleming Teaching Fellow 229 7227
Dr Flavio Garcia Da Rocha Teaching Fellow 373 6465
Dr Edwin Vollans Teaching Fellow tbc

Research Staff


Affiliated Research Staff

Paula Serafini Research Associate 229 7205
Stevie Marsden Research Associate
229 7163

Visiting and Honorary Staff

Professor Barrie Gunter Emeritus Professor
Professor Andrew Tolson Visiting Fellow

Share this page:

Contact Details

School of Media, Communication and Sociology

Campus based courses
T: +44(0)116 252 3863

Distance Learning Courses
T: 0116 252 3755

Research degrees (campus-based and distance learning courses)
T: +44(0)116 252 2785

University of Leicester
Bankfield House
132 New Walk
United Kingdom

University of Leicester
107-111 Princess Road East
United Kingdom

Student complaints procedure


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for Bankfield House.