Qualifying for the Legal Profession

A qualifying law degree is an approved qualification which contains the foundations of legal knowledge (specified by the Solicitors Regulation Authority and the Bar Standards Board).

Qualifying as a Solicitor – A New Route
The Solicitors Regulation Authority announced on 25 April that the current system of qualification will be replaced by a new Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE). We want to reassure all current Leicester Law students that you will continue to have the option to qualify as a Solicitor in the current way (an LPC following graduation with a qualifying law degree).

At present, all Leicester LLB programmes are Qualifying Law Degrees (dependent on passing of the core modules), serving as the first stage of professional qualification for both Solicitors and Barristers in England and Wales. This system remains unchanged for those entering the Barristers’ profession.

For students wishing to qualify as Solicitors, this will also remain true for those starting in October 2017, consistent with information currently published via the University website and prospectus. The Solicitors Regulation Authority envisages that the current method of qualification will remain available for some time, with a choice of qualification routes existing for a number of years. The SRA will consult on these transitional arrangements later this year, and we will provide further information as soon as it is available.

We are currently reviewing the LLB curriculum in the light of the SQE. We will provide full information for future prospective students once any changes to the curriculum have been approved.

The Current System for Qualifying

The current route to becoming a solicitor or barrister in England and Wales can be broken down in to three stages.

  • The academic stage: the qualifying law degree;
  • The vocational stage: the Legal Practice Course (LPC) / Bar Professional Training Course (BPTC);
  • The professional stage: a training contract at a firm of solicitors, or pupillage at a barrister’s chambers.

All our degree programmes are designed as qualifying law degrees with the seven foundation subjects covered in the following modules.

  • Constitutional and Administrative Law
  • The Law of Contract
  • Criminal Law
  • Equity and Trusts
  • EU Law
  • Land Law (Property Law)
  • Law of Torts

Share this page:

Leicester Law School LLB undergraduate course enquiries

Charlotte Naylor
tel +44 (0)116 229 7764

Leicester Law School 
University of Leicester
University Road
United Kingdom

UCAS Visit Days for Law applicants

Read our Law student blogs